I Love You, Man Review

23 Mar

I know today should be a Wii Fit update, but I haven’t had a chance to take some pictures. So I’m going to skip a week and continue on.

On Friday night my good friend and roommate Rob and I went on a “Man Date.” At least that’s what all my female friends have said it was. We had dinner at Red Brick Pizza at The Loop before catching a movie. First off, Red Brick Pizza, they have the potential to make REALLY good pizza, but it was just WAY too greasy again. The last few times I’ve been there the pizzas come out of the oven with at least 4 or 5 tablespoons of oily mess on top. It really wrecks the pizza. Anyways, on to the movie.

“I Love You, Man” stars Paul Rudd and Jason Segel in a somewhat romantic comedy. The movie opens with Rudd’s character, Peter, proposing to his girlfriend Zooey (Rashida Jones). Very quickly it becomes apparent that Peter is going to have a problem filling out his side of the wedding party to match his fiance’s many bridesmaids. Peter doesn’t have any friends and I can relate to that. Peter’s gay brother, Robby  (Andy Samberg), dad (J.K. Simmons) and mom (Jane Curtin) all attempt to set him up with guys.

These set ups lead to one of the funniest cameos in the movie. Peter’s mom sets him up on a dinner date with Doug (Thomas Lennon). Lennon is best known as Lt. Jim Dangle on the Reno 911! TV series. Doug is a very sophisticated gay man who takes a liking to Peter. He pops up another time or two in the movie in hilarious moments. He almost steals the show.

Eventually Peter meets Sydney Fife (Segel) at an open house for Lou Ferrigno’s estate (yes, the Hulk). Sydney has no interest in the house, but was there for the free food. He tells Peter that his sandwiches were some of the best he had ever had. They exchange business cards which leads to a very funny moment as Peter is trying to decide when/how to call him. It really felt like what I go through when I call a girl. Rather, what I went through I guess.

The movie is really carried by these two characters and their interaction. Obviously, since they are on the poster and are the heart of the movie, but I really think these two guys are what take this movie from “eh” to “good.” Some of the best moments in the movie take place in Sydney’s “man cave” which comes complete with multiple televisions and a full band set up. Peter and Sydney rocking out to Rush is classic comedy. I’m not saying the smaller parts weren’t good. Samberg was great, Jaime Pressly was hilarious, I’m just saying that without Rudd and Segel this movie isn’t that good.

The “conflict” of the movie came in late and ended quickly. Rob and I had a discussion about how it was a great movie, with out a real plot. It was just kind of a fun story that meandered through the movie. At that, the conflict was a normal male screw up when Peter asked Zooey a REALLY stupid question to ask your fiancee. Asking stupid questions of females is somewhat one of my specialties, so I know where he is coming from there.

Overall I give this movie 3 out of 5 and recommend you go see it. If you are a big fan of these guys recent great movies, like “Role Models” or “Forgetting Sarah Marshall“, then go see this in the theater. If you enjoyed those movies but they didn’t change your world, rent/buy the DVD. It will be worth it for some good laughs!

4 Responses to “I Love You, Man Review”

  1. dee March 23, 2009 at 4:30 pm #

    Red brick has the best croutons which means they have the best salads. Hands down!

  2. kori March 23, 2009 at 10:24 pm #

    dinner and a movie…wow he gets the full treatment…LOL

    • Joe O. March 23, 2009 at 10:25 pm #

      We went dutch damnit!

  3. kori March 24, 2009 at 3:58 pm #

    sure sure… did you hold his hand? sneak an arm around him in the dark? LOLOLOL

Leave a comment