My First Brew!

17 Dec

My last post was about how I had started home brewing and I used a picture of my first ever brew fermenting in my pantry. Here it is again:

My Everyday IPA fermenting

That is from the Brooklyn Brew Shop Everyday IPA kit. The kit came with 95% of what I needed to make beer! I mashed, sparged, boiled and then put it in the pantry to ferment (what you see above). After a couple weeks I bottled (which is probably the messiest part) and then the bottles went back into the pantry for two more weeks.

The two weeks ended yesterday, so I popped a couple test glasses in the fridge to chill and finally got to taste the fruits of my labor.

It's Beer!

In my head (after reading many online forums) I imagined flat beer or sour apple tasting beer. I thought for sure that the little yeasts were all dead and there was going to be no head. Well, as you can see it had head!!! Maybe a little over-carbonated, but it had a good aroma and nice lacing as I drank. Best of all, it tasted REALLY good!

You’ll notice the awesome flip top bottle. I happened to have purchased that full of Flensburger beer! I emptied the bottle (into a willing mouth) and then cleaned and sanitized it before filling it back up!

Right now in my pantry I have a custom Festivus Winter Spiced Ale fermenting (with all the good holiday spices in it) and next week I plan to make a recipe I designed called JC’s Strawberry Moon with the famous JC!

Leave a Reply

