Lonely Avenue by Ben Folds and Nick Hornby

30 Oct

The latest album by Ben Folds, Lonely Avenue,  is a little different than his previous efforts. This album was a collaboration between Ben and Nick Hornby. Nick wrote all the lyrics and Ben put the music around it and performed it.

I didn’t know it when I first heard the name, but I am a fan of Nick Hornby! He is an English writer who happened to write the book that one of my favorite movies of all time was based off of, High Fidelity with John Cusack. I’ve actually contemplated purchasing the book (since I’ve started reading actual books!). Every song seems to do a great job telling a story, this shouldn’t be a surprise when you see how many great novels Hornby has written!

Overall the album really speaks to me. I really dig almost every song and love singing along in the car. If only I could play the piano like he does!! Check out the album!

I won’t share EVERY song, but a few from YouTube are below:

The first is “A Working Day” which has a line that talks about me! “Some guy on the net thinks I suck and he should know! He’s got his own blog!” Sorry that this one doesn’t have an actual video…

NSFW language warning!

Next song I will share is one of my favorites, “From Above.” I not only love the song, this video/cartoon thing is really cute! Lucky for my I found my soulmate in JC!

Another of my favorites, but it is kinda sad “Picture Window”:

And finally to lift the mood I give you an Englishman’s take on Levi Johnston (yes, Sarah Palin’s Grand-baby-daddy!) “The Levi Johnston Blues”

Leave a Reply

