Disney’s Upgrade to Blu Program

11 Jun

Now that I have a Blu-Ray player I was confronted with the problem of re-buying all of my old DVD’s so that I could have them in Blu-Ray. Well, I shouldn’t say that. I NEVER plan on upgrading all 200+ of my DVD’s to Blu-Ray. It just doesn’t make sense. Blu-Ray’s are still pretty expensive, so I’ll only get Blu-Ray’s on movies I REALLY want swapped.

Since my first Blu-Ray I owned, a present from the wonderful JC, was Toy Story I saw that Disney has an “Upgrade to Blu” program. If you own a Disney DVD you can fill out a form, attach some proof of purchases and you will get an $8 coupon for that movie. $8 isn’t a ton, but it would be nice to add that to a sale of some sort so I went to their site and selected the movies I owned and am going to mail off my form.

The first thing I noticed is that not every Disney DVD is listed. Even the ones I KNOW that have Blu-Ray’s out. I own all three of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies and think that they would be even better in Blu, but they aren’t offering a coupon for the Johnny Depp movies!

Has anyone else tried this program? It supposedly is only for this year and I may not use the coupons I get (Ratatouille, WALL-E, and Up) but at least I will have them in case I want to upgrade.

Also, if I upgrade I will either EBay or MovieStop the DVDs for  a little extra cash!

One Response to “Disney’s Upgrade to Blu Program”

  1. sunshinekmp June 11, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    If you upgrade, we would be interested in buying Up and Wall-E from you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

