Great Orlando Beer Festival 2010

20 Apr

This past Saturday JC and I relived one of our early “dates” and had an amazing time. In 2009 shortly after we started dating we attended The Great Orlando Beer Festival at Cranes Roost Park at Uptown Altamonte. 2010’s edition was a month earlier, but was just as good. How it works is that you pay for entry and they give you a wristband and a small plastic cup.

You then walk to any of the many many small tents and have the smiling people from breweries and distributors fill up your cup. Then repeat. And boy did we repeat!

I don’t remember the whole day, I know it was fun and I know I had a LOT of great beer along with some not so great beer and it was a great time. Early in the day I decided to collect beer coasters and every booth that had them I grabbed one (or two if they were different) and put them in my cargo short pockets

When I got home later that day I was in for a big surprise! I ended up with TWELVE coasters. I really thought I had about five, but look at these beauties:

I also remember that there was a booth serving deep fried bacon tossed in hot sauce! Mmmmmmmmmm Beer & Bacon for the win!

So two years in a row we had a great time, which brings up a not so great drinking festival we went to at Cranes Roost, Wine Stock.

Wine Stock was set up the same way as Beer Fest with one major difference…Wine Styles (at Uptown Altamonte) was selling cases of all the wines that were available for testing. This meant less wines and a lot less product. Well before they ended they were running out of wine and the long lines meant that you spent so much time in line it was hard to get going. A sip of wine before standing in line for 10 minutes for another sip of wine just doesn’t cut it.

The Great Orlando Beer Festival did it right and we loved it! We’ll be checking it out again next year and I hope you do to!

2 Responses to “Great Orlando Beer Festival 2010”

  1. sunshinekmp April 20, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    Sounds like you had fun. I’m sure Bradley would love to go to this…let me know next time in advance..maybe I can drop him off and pick him up! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ear Infection « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 22, 2010

    […] My guess is that something flowed into my ear while we were checking out the new ride at Aquatica Saturday morning. Yes, we spent a couple hours at Aquatica before having lunch and going to beer fest. […]

Leave a Reply

