New IKEA Desk!

13 Apr

So, if you have a good memory, you will know that after my first visit to IKEA I wrote a blog post entitled “IKEA is probably evil.” Well, I still think the place is big and confusing, but I now own something from IKEA. For Christmas JC’s parents got me a $100 gift card to IKEA which I decided I would use on a desk. After a couple visits and a lot of thought I picked out a desk.

Then I went to IKEA to finalize my decision and that desk was gone. Discontinued I guess. Luckily though in its place was a brand new series of desks that I liked even better. I also liked the name! Micke! I ended up getting the medium size desk and the drawer unit on casters.

With JC’s help and JC’s car I bought it Friday night and brought it home to put together. As I was an IKEA virgin, the instructions were a new thing to me. No words at all and the pieces weren’t marked, which led to me being confused a couple of times. Not to worry though since JC is amazing and helped me through it. We first put together the drawer unit and I realized I forgot to get out the camera. So here is the completed unit:

We of course then continued on by building the desk. The kitties decided that it would be fun to play in the boxes:

Ok, enough of the kitties, though they are VERY cute!!! We continued on building the desk. Those Swedish people in the diagrams look funny and JC tried to look like one of them:

The desk is almost done…but wait, something is wrong here:

Oh, it is just upside down and now JC found a new hiding place:

Finally, the desk is done:

It took me a while, but I wired everything up and got my desktop back up and running:

A lot better than what I had before! I was using the computer stacked up on two boxes with the monitor, keyboard, mouse and speakers on top of those foldable tray tables. It was interesting to say the least. Here I am taking it for a test run:

So far the desk is awesome! I’m lovin’ it!

Something else that makes this desk kick-ass is that it matches JC’s older IKEA desk (in color) which may allow us to one day create our own MEGA DESK! Sorry the videos aren’t the best…If only I could embed Hulu! Anyways, if you want the whole episode (it is very funny) you can see it on Hulu here.

7 Responses to “New IKEA Desk!”

  1. deana April 13, 2010 at 7:15 am #

    My kitties love Ikea boxes. We have only bought 2 things from there but everytime we bring it home they are all over it. right now we have a box in the garage from something we bought 2 weeks ago b/c they cannot stop going in it and I hate to take away their play place!

  2. sunshinekmp April 13, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    I like it! 🙂

  3. Jessica April 20, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    now you can follow the ikea hacker blog!!!

  4. Ashley July 10, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Random question about this desk. Is the thing in the front a keyboard drawer or a regular drawer or what?

    • Joe O. December 13, 2011 at 8:53 am #

      This is a really slow response but it is not a keyboard drawer. Just a standard drawer

  5. WIsh June 6, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    I love your desk. You, JC and especially the Kitties are wonderful 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Disney Pin Boards « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - May 11, 2010

    […] proudly have my pins displayed on my new desk and I love it! JC happens to have a LOT more pins than I do so she made herself some Disney pin […]

Leave a Reply

