Running…Part Four!

10 Apr

Yes, I am still doing my running! You can read about my how I’ve done here, here, here and here. I’m still not breaking any speed or distance records but I think I am doing better and I’m actually starting to enjoy it. It still isn’t one of my favorite things to do, but I’m not dreading it quite as much as when I started.

This week I did something that I’m not sure I’ve EVER done in my life. I ran an entire mile non-stop. Again, it wasn’t very fast, but I did it. I walked another mile but we didn’t do any more running that day. This was mainly due to some shin pain I had been experiencing. In fact, my right shin has been recently my main problem and yesterday we might have just figured it out.

Since I am WAY less than athletic I really don’t know what muscles/ligaments hurt or what a pain really is. I just know that it hurts. It just felt like a tight burning pain in my lower shin that would build up my leg. Yesterday while running JC happened to be complaining about a very similar feeling. This is very unusual since she normally can run circles around me.

She determines that her shoe was laced a little bit too tight. She loosened hers up and felt better…so I did the same.

Sure enough I was able to continue running without the pain returning. So apparently I’m really dumb and couldn’t figure out something that simple, but oh well. I’m hoping that by loosening up my laces a bit I’ll be able to extend my running abilities.

Overall I think we did a good job yesterday. We ran for 20 minutes in 5 minute increments and walked for 3 minutes in between. The walk to Cranes Roost Park is about .6 miles and we managed three laps around the lake. By my math that is a total walk/jog of 4.2 miles! Including our walk to and from along with our stretching time we totaled 1.5 hours of activity! Best part? I’m not dying today!

In fact, I feel good!

3 Responses to “Running…Part Four!”

  1. rundadrun April 10, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Great job with the non-stop mile! I have now run 3 marathons and I still remember when I got back up to a mile non-stop after 20 + years away from running. WTG.
    And glad to hear you found a cure for your shin pain.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

  2. sunshinekmp April 10, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    Awesome job! Glad you aren’t hurting and starting to like it. I need to get moving again!

  3. JC April 10, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    I’m proud of you sweetie! ❤

Leave a Reply

