The Census!

19 Mar

So I’m sure you’ve seen the commercials for the U.S. Census. Well, I will be counted! I received my letter last week telling me that I would be receiving an official census form. Why the two letters? I have no clue. I am not even sure why there have been TV commercials, but I like the ones that don’t feature the stupid song:

So here is my already completed census form:

It literally took me three and a half minutes. That is it. I’m not sure what all the hub bub has been about. None of the questions are really that invasive. I’m not sure why they need my phone number, but what are they going to do? Call me and ask me if I multiplied?

Here are the other pages if you have more than one person living in your house:

I only had to worry about the first page because I live with two cats and seven fish. The U.S. Government doesn’t care about my pets it appears. They are important to me, so maybe they should be included!

Here is my form ready to mail:

So why haven’t I mailed it yet? I don’t want to go to jail for lying to the government! The questions are “As of April 1st” which has yet to arrive. I will go ahead and drop this mail in a couple weeks.

Now, I’ve seen a LOT of stuff on the internet and YouTube going ON and ON about how horrible the census is. How the government is trying to steal our information and souls or something. I’ve seen the videos of census workers using GPS to mark door steps. This doesn’t really bother me. I mean, how do you think Google Maps, Yahoo! Maps and Bing Maps work? Where do you think they get the information?

I can tell you that a lot of the address information comes from the census and I can prove it!

I used to live in Buenaventura Lakes, Florida (part of Kissimmee). You can see it in this Google Map. Look right next to where it says “Buenaventura Lakes.” It says “Yeehaw Junction!” If you search Google Maps for Yeehaw Junction it brings you to the same place! I can assure you that Yeehaw Junction is quite a ways away. This is actually Yeehaw Junction and this is the difference between the two! It was a 2000 Census mistake that Google Maps has unwittingly re-distributed. The mistake is mentioned in BVL’s Wikipedia article.

So if you like your online mapping programs or your GPS in your car/cell phone I’m guessing you like the information the census collects! Fill out your ten questions and send it back! Maybe if we all do our schools can be fully funded!!!

8 Responses to “The Census!”

  1. Nicole March 19, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    The census questions are fine. But many people are up in arms over another U.S. Census Bureau document — the American Community Survey. Haven’t seen it? Go look at it and tell me it’s not an invasion of privacy.

    Granted, most of that info — most, not ALL — is available somewhere if someone wants to hunt it down. But in a day and age of rampant identity theft and fraud, should we really be putting down THAT MUCH personal info in a single document and wantonly handing it off with the promise of its security?

    • Joe O. March 19, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

      I don’t see anything in that survey that is extraordinary…especially when you notice that 90% of those questions have been asked since the early 1900’s. The only new questions are about health insurance really. And the fact that they are asking a small number of people monthly instead of a large group every ten years (the old Census Long Form)

  2. sunshinekmp March 19, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    Good job. We filled out ours too. Plan to mail ours today. I thought it was funny that it asked about April 1st. I mean, heck we could die by then. Or what if we end up in a nursing home or jail on that day…we’ll be counted twice. Oh well, hoping for the best and sending it back!

  3. Werner Strasser March 21, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    No problem with the form. It takes less than 10 seconds. Write in how many persons are living there and cover the racial classification by “Homosapian” or mixed breed “Caucasian-Negroid-Mongoloid”. Simple!

  4. Annie March 24, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    Some people have said that the US immigration office is going to trace census respondents, find out if they are in this country legally, then locate and deport them if they are not. It’s part of a crackdown on undocumented workers — SO wrong!

    • Joe O. March 25, 2010 at 7:50 am #

      Wait…It is “so wrong” to find people in the country ILLEGALLY? I’m sorry, but there are legal ways to come to the US and live/work here legally. I for one think that if you are breaking the law, you are breaking the law. I tend to speed on I4. I know that I am doing it and I know that if I am caught I will get a ticket. If you are in the country illegally then you should know that if you are caught, you will be deported.

      When I saw the “protests” in California where a bunch of illegal immigrants marched around with signs I asked myself why Immigration didn’t just line up and take them in one by one.

      Illegal aliens don’t pay taxes and I’ve heard the horror stories of car accidents with illegals because guess what? They don’t have insurance! I don’t mind at ALL tracking down these people who are criminals. They obviously have something to hide if they won’t just come to the country legally.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Census For Trekkies! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 2, 2010

    […] as I told you, filled out my census form without thinking of having some fun. I wish I could be recognized […]

  2. Census Fail! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 15, 2010

    […] } Way back on March 19th (almost a whole month ago) I told you about how I got my census form! I even told you about Trekkie answers on the census. But what I found in the mailbox on […]

Leave a Reply

