Running Shoes!

16 Mar

If you’ve read my blog recently you know that I’ve started running with my girlfriend JC. You haven’t? Well, I’ll wait.

I’m waiting for you to read “Running” and “Running…Part Two“.

Done? Good, now we are all up to speed.

For my entire adult life I’ve worn shoes that met two basic criteria: 1.) They were cheap and 2.) They looked decent. Unfortunately for running they weren’t the best. This led us to go shoe shopping on Sunday. Since I am still frugal we decided it best to go to the outlet malls and use coupons!

Maybe in the future I’ll have enough money to go to Fleet Feet and get some “custom fit” shoes. For now, outlets + coupons will have to do.

We went right down the road from my house to Orlando Premium Outlets and visited the Nike, Adidas and Reebok Outlets. We also visited Factory Brand Shoes and Rack Room Shoes and tried shoes on at every store. At every store I was dumbfounded to see how hard a time JC had at finding shoes with good support in her size and in some places shoes in her size at all!

When I was growing and my feet were becoming abnormally large (or so I was told) I remember that places like Payless Shoes just didn’t carry my size. Over the years every store has picked up sizes above 11 and in some cases all the up to 15 on the rack! It never dawned on me that the same might be true on the other end of the spectrum.

JC wears a woman’s size 6 and we had the darndest time finding them! At the second Rack Room Shoe store we went to the salesman actually told us that the “Asian Tourists” clear them out of the small sizes as soon as they get them. That was his way of explaining the non-selection of size 6 shoes in their store.

While we were out though JC found some Asics that were PERFECT except a half size too big. We looked EVERYWHERE for those shoes and we finally found them! ONLINE! It stinks that she will have to wait a few days for her shoes, but they  are on their way from the big internets.

Her shoes are Asics Gel-1140 and no we didn’t pay the $85 suggested retail (not even close).

This is what they will look like!

My shoes were easier…kinda. They were actually the first pair of shoes I tried on! I tried on another 20 pairs but I went back to the Adidas because they just felt the best.

Aren't they pretty?

I’m not normally a fan of the yellow, but the color was the least of my concerns!

Those are the Adidas Response Cushion 18 in size 11.5!

They got soles!

As you can probably tell from the name, these shoes have a lot of cushion. Being overweight I’m hoping the extra padding will help my knees while running.

They also have some good arch support that fits perfectly with my feet!

miCoach compatible!

miCoach is Adidas’ version of Nike +. It is a training “helper” that includes a foot tracker that goes in a slot under your insole. It just happens that my shoes are compatible. I don’t have miCoach and while it would be nice to have an electronic trainer, I don’t see myself spending the money on it.

Overall we spent about four hours shopping for shoes and I am THRILLED with my purchase. In addition to being on sale I had another 20% off coupon!

I’ll leave you with why my kitties love my big feet:

Sasha checking out the new box!

3 Responses to “Running Shoes!”

  1. sunshinekmp March 16, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    Nice shoes all around! I like the idea of the miCoach/Nike+ too. I have a few friends who use it but I can’t see myself ever investing in it. I’d have to actually LIKE running! 🙂

    • Joe O. March 16, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

      I LOVE the idea…especially when it comes to a day or two that I might have to run by myself…I can see myself having trouble staying motivated. Luckily so far all of our runs have been together and she has pushed me through!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running…Part Four! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 13, 2010

    […] } Yes, I am still doing my running! You can read about my how I’ve done here, here, here and here. I’m still not breaking any speed or distance records but I think I am doing better […]

Leave a Reply

