Running

3 Mar

Last week JC told me that she wants to run a 5k. It also happens that my friend, The Keeper of Monkeys, is running in the WDW Royal Family 5k this weekend. After some thought I decided that it would be a good thing for me to start some running.

While thinking about going running I realized that I probably wouldn’t run very well in jeans or jean shorts. Seeing that I don’t own “work out” clothes I took a trip to Wal-Mart and got some cheap stuff. Shorts, long pants and a shirt all made with some of that cool dry-tec stuff.

After much dread on my part we took our first run last night. We walked over to Cranes Roost Park at Uptown Altamonte and fought the wind. We decided that I probably wouldn’t have a heart attack and die if we took it slow and alternated some running/jogging with some walking. We ran for three minutes and then walked for four minutes. All told we ended up running for 18 minutes and had a total walk/run of over an hour (including the walk to and from the park).

I won’t lie. It was tough. Towards the end of each of the running sessions my legs were burning and I was out of breath. I did survive however!

When I woke up this morning I was pleasantly surprised by only a dull pain in my quads. I was expecting my full body to hurt. I did my normal shower and dressing routine and then drove to work. That is when it got me.

When I got out of the car I thought my legs were broken. As the morning has progressed my ankles, legs, shoulder and back have all been stiff and had a dull pain. I’m guessing this is what happens when you run for the first time since school.

I feel good about what I was able to do and plan on continuing with the support of my beautiful girlfriend. I’m not a fan of the pain, but am hoping that it will get better as I go (probably just wishful thinking). I’ll try to keep this updated on my running progress. Our next “run date” is Thursday! AHHHH

7 Responses to “Running”

  1. sunshinekmp March 3, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    How is it that you have no workout clothes when you did WiiFit and EA Sports Active for so long? Good luck with the running. It will get easier. Maybe we can all run a 5K together.

    • Joe O. March 3, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

      The Wii games were in my house alone…boxers was all I was normally wearing…

  2. mom March 3, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

    Just plan on it getting worse before it gets better, that way you can be pleasantly surprised when that doesn’t happen. You can cross train with EA Active on your non-running days.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running…Part Two « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - March 14, 2010

    […] } So I told you last week JC and I have started doing some running and we have continued to run about every other day. We’ve run a few times at Cranes Roost […]

  2. Running Shoes! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - March 16, 2010

    […] waiting for you to read “Running” and “Running…Part […]

  3. Running…Part Three « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - March 26, 2010

    […] } So, since the last time I wrote about Running (Part 1 Part 2) I have had a setback. If you follow my Twitter (upper right corner of the page) you would […]

  4. Running…Part Four! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 13, 2010

    […] } Yes, I am still doing my running! You can read about my how I’ve done here, here, here and here. I’m still not breaking any speed or distance records but I think I am […]

Leave a Reply

