Disney Pin Trading

27 Feb

I teased it in my post yesterday about how I became addicted to Disney Pin Trading. Now I’m going to out my full addiction with pictures (NOTE: I don’t have a professional camera nor a studio, so not all of these pictures are great)!

My Collection

For those of you who don’t know, Disney sells collectible pins. Not very exciting I know, especially since they cost from $7.99 to $12.99 a piece. Here is wear it gets addicting. Disney Cast Members (what they call employees) in most departments are encouraged (and in some departments required) to wear pin lanyards while working and you can walk up to a cast member and trade with them. You can give them any pin you have and take any one they have. The cast members are not allowed to say no to any trade (as long as it is one pin for one pin).

I know I know! You are wondering how in the world one doesn’t go broke just starting out in this hobby. The answer is simple. Ebay! I have purchased a ton of pins for about $1.25 a piece on Ebay, then traded them in the parks for the more expensive ones that I actually want!

So, how do you get started? Well, I would recommend going to Disney or Downtown Disney and buying one of their “Starter Lanyard.” It will come with a lanyard and five or six pins. I got the Nightmare Before Christmas starter lanyard. Which is why my lanyard is black and has purple “Jack” skulls.

My current lanyard

So that is what my lanyard looked like when I got BACK from Disney the last time. It didn’t look like that on the way out, that is for sure!

At Disney, while I’m walking around I am always looking for cast members with lanyards and when I see them I go ask to see their pins. You don’t HAVE to trade with an employee even if you stop them from what they are doing to look at their pins. All of the official Disney Pins come with some very Disney backs:

All shapes and sizes have the same back!

You can visit Disney’s Official Pin Trading site for some more information and while you do check out some more photos of my collection!

My favorite Disney Theme Park character! FIGMENT!

Special pins celebrating 10 years of pin trading!

Puppies! These will all probably be traded (maybe today!)

My two favorite Muppet characters. Beaker and Animal!

Donald > Mickey!

Some Limited Edition ones. Including FIGMENT singing at Candlelight!

Part of an OLD set. Pooh and friends riding on a train

Some pins from EPCOT and EPCOT's festivals!

Nightmare Before Christmas. JC has the other half of the one in the center!

Part of Disney's new "Vinylmation" craze. I don't get it. But Disney is opening a new store at Downtown Disney devoted to this stuff!

Holiday Pins!

I hope you enjoyed my collection!!!!!

4 Responses to “Disney Pin Trading”

  1. sunshinekmp February 27, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    Very fun! I really like Beaker!

  2. Jessica March 1, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    I’ll have to dig mine out. I KNOW I have some rare ones ….

  3. Constance (also addicted) May 11, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Yay pins!
    watch out with ebay, sometimes you get pins that the cast members won’t trade for (and they don’t have to). I mean, even if you get 10 in a lot of 50 that are untradeable b/c of no stamp/bad metal you’re still getting a GREAT deal. SO I guess it doesn’t really matter, but I have seen that happen.

    • Joe O. May 11, 2010 at 9:14 am #

      I’ve heard that BUT I only use highly rated sellers and have thus far had no problems. I check each pin that comes and they are all 100% legit. JC’s even gotten some really rare ones (from the Soda Fountain). Yesterday JC traded for a cute Mickey pin (from a Disney Manager) that totally looks not legit. And we saw the identical pin on at least one other cast member. So I’m not sure how close most cast members are looking.

Leave a Reply

