Dexter

24 Feb

For the past few years I have subscribed to Showtime for one reason. Dexter. Little did I know that the AMAZING television show was based on a novel, “Darkly Dreaming Dexter” by Jeff Lindsay. After reading my first book in many years, 1984, my girlfriend recommended I read the book. She received it for Christmas from her brother.

Since we had just recently sat on the edge of our seats through the fourth season, guest starring John Lithgow, I decided to give it a shot. A few days later I was hooked. I blew through the book and immediately was looking online to see that there were actually FOUR Dexter books out. A few days and a couple bucks later Amazon had delivered to me the next two books, “Dearly Devoted Dexter” and “Dexter in the Dark.” The fourth book, “Dexter by Design” is not yet out in paperback in the US (though we are contemplating buying the hardback).

“Darkly Dreaming Dexter” is the basis for the first season with some major differences at the end. These differences lead to an ever widening gap between the show and novels as the books and seasons progress. The basics behind the show and novel are the same and I love both.

Dexter revolves around the title character, Dexter Morgan (Michael C. Hall). Dexter Morgan is a blood splatter analyst for the Miami Police Department who happened to be adopted by a former Miami police officer. Dexter just happens to also be a serial killer. But he is a good serial killer.

He lives by “Harry’s Code” which tells him to only kill the bad guys. His adopted father spent years training him to control his “dark passenger.” They also honed the technique of leaving no evidence of the crime. Covering everything in plastic and disposing of the bodies in the ocean. The only evidence of his crimes? A slide with a single drop of blood from each victim. A sort of trophy of each kill.

As the show and books continue we see Dexter doing his best to “fake” his way through life. A girlfriend? Marriage? Family problems? All things way outside of his comfort zone that happen to confront him.

Being that the main character is a serial killer, you can be sure that there will be graphic images in the show and books. Bodies chopped into pieces completely drained of their blood? Yes! Decapitated heads thrown at cars? Yes! So if that kind of thing isn’t your cup of tea, be warned.

Lindsay’s characters and writing style were able to hook me and I’m not exactly an avid reader. In 2010 I have read three books. 2009 I read one. 2000-2008 zero!

Alongside myself were my girlfriend and mom reading the Dexter books. In fact, JC just finished “Dexter in the Dark” and we just passed it on to my mom. If you can stomach reading about some gruesome scenes then I would definitely recommend the Dexter series. So go out there and read!

One Response to “Dexter”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best Valentine’s Day Present EVER!!! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 6, 2010

    […] I told you before I’ve been reading the Dexter books. I’ve read ALL four of them and I’ve seen every episode of the Showtime show. I […]

Leave a Reply

