Amazing Chicken and Rice with Veggies a la Jenny Cate

29 Dec

So my girlfriend has been in Houston since the 23rd and I’m really REALLY missing her. Luckily she will be returning home TOMORROW! YAY! One thing I decided to do to trick myself into thinking she was still around was by cooking her amazing chicken, rice and veggies. Ok, so it really only tricked my stomach, but you know what they say about a man’s stomach!

Now, this recipe was developed by Jenny Cate and is kind of one of those cook by feel things. I tried to measure what I was putting in tonight so you could follow, but everything is approximate!

What you will need:

  1. Chicken (however much you want to make)
  2. Marinade (I used KC Masterpiece’s Roasted Garlic Balsamic)
  3. Rice (you can use instant or whatever you like – I used some Texmati Brown Rice)
  4. vegetables: Squash, Zucchini, bell pepper (red ones I like the best but I had green ones)
  5. Diced onions and tomatoes (I was out of tomatoes, so I didn’t use them)
  6. Garlic and garlic powder
  7. Onion powder, ground coriander
  8. Soy Sauce

The veggie ingredients

The chicken

As you can see I marinated my chicken (two small pieces) in a quart size zip top bag. Make sure you get the chicken all covered and remove as much excess air as you can. Also, flip the bag over in the fridge a few times during its stay.

For tonight the cooking started with the rice. Follow the instructions on your specific rice, but mine had 2 1/4 cups water, 1 cup rice, 1/4 teaspoon of salt and 1 teaspoon butter.

Bring that to a boil

Stir once then cover:

Then boil for 45 minutes...

I love this rice. It is SOOO easy and SOOO yummy. On to the chicken. Pre-heat your oven to 400. Get the chicken in a baking dish:

Foil lined for easy cleanup

Cover the chicken with a little onions and tomatoes (only onions for me tonight):

MMmmmm

Then cover that with more of the marinade (this helps keep everything nice and moist):

Looks good enough to eat, but RAW CHICKEN is bad

So that goes in the oven for 40 minutes (I made the rice first because the rice cooks for 45 and then sits for 10).

I normally take about a 15 minute break (but if you chop slow you might not want to)…and then chop up your veggies.

This is the important part of this post. These veggies are AMAZING! JC has PERFECTED these and I just try to help when I can. I now present to you Veggies a la Jenny Cate!

Mmmm garlic

If you don’t like garlic use less…if you REALLY like garlic, use more. It is totally up to you!!

Look, I can chop up a bunch of veggies without chopping the tip of my finger off!

I did chop a bit slower tonight just to prevent an incident like last time!

A little oil and a pad of butter in a pan over medium high heat:

A little butter won't kill you!

Then add your minced up garlic:

You want to get the garlic to take a little color

BUT DON’T BURN IT! Burnt garlic is yucky!

Add your veggies and get them started:

Still raw...

Give the veggies about 2 minutes to start cooking then hit them with some flavor! I do the seasonings first. About a teaspoon of garlic powder and onion powder and half a tablespoon of coriander.

Oops, forgot the onions:

Mix everything up well

The part of this that just MAKES the veggies is the soy sauce. We’ve always done this by eye, but tonight I measured it a little at a time and I used 3 tablespoons plus a splash:

Let it cook off...

Once the liquid is mostly cooked off/absorbed go ahead and turn the heat down and let the veggies continue to cook at a simmer until the chicken and rice are ready. Once done it will look like this:

Mmmmmmm

Rice is done:

Perfect every time!

And so is the chicken:

Now we can eat!

Plated up it will look like this:

Looks good enough to eat...

And it was DELISH! You can change up the seasonings a bit and use different marinades. We’ve used quick 10 minute marinades and a 4 hours marinade. Whatever flavor floats your boat! The veggies seem to go with everything.

I have to admit something here…zucchini and squash have never been featured in my blog before because they have never been featured in my stomach before! I’m not a fan of these veggies, at least I wasn’t. I guess I had just never had them taste this good!

So try it out. Try it with some pork chops (maybe coca-cola chops?). Maybe even your kids will enjoy their veggies???

2 Responses to “Amazing Chicken and Rice with Veggies a la Jenny Cate”

  1. sunshinekmp December 29, 2009 at 10:04 am #

    Looks good! 🙂

  2. kaitlin January 13, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    i am sooo happy you are blogging again. although its been off since JC got back… oh well

    love you

Leave a Reply

