Resrevoir Dogs

21 Jul

Reservoir Dogs is being done on stage in Orlando RIGHT NOW! Yes, Tarantino’s cult classic movie is being done live. In your face and bloody!

Greater Orlando Actors Theater (GOAT) is putting on the show in their new theater in Winter Park and I was able to catch the show on Sunday night. My good friend Rob stars as Mr. Pink and my friend and reader Tara is the Assistant Director.

You may remember that I’ve mentioned GOAT shows in the past, I’ve actually seen four GOAT shows in this theater’s young life. I’ve definitely seen this theater grow and they are getting better all the time.

I will admit readily that I am not a huge Tarantino fan. I’m just not. Pulp Fiction had some good moments, but as an overall movie I felt it was mediocre. Reservoir Dogs seemed like it could have been great, but instead just become a blood lust. I am not going to let this change my review of the play, but I wanted to point that out from the start.

The show is done with limited sets and really counts on the actors to carry the story. There are a few videos thrown in to show scenes that would be impossible to do in the small “black box” type theater that GOAT has. The setting of the theater seemed perfect for all the warehouse scenes, and I think that helped keep this a simple show.

I found the acting to be a step up from what I had seen locally on the community theater scene and was pleasantly surprised by it. Mr. Blonde (Steve Hurst) was amazingly creepy with Mr. Orange (Steve Pugh) dying for 3/4 of the play very well. It isn’t the easiest thing to be laying on some wood crates, deliver lines and make it look like you are realistically hurt.

Mr. Pink (Rob DelMedico) seemed like a true person, and I really bought that it was Mr. Pink and not my buddy Rob. I’m glad that Rob/the directors chose not to try to over emulate Steve Buscemi. Joe (Brett Carson) seemed like a real bad ass at times and had some great “old man” makeup! I was definitely impressed with the whole cast, so kudos to all of you!

The play has lots of fake blood. If you are sitting the first row or two, you may end up wearing that fake blood! Gun shot wounds gush and yes, Mr. Blonde cuts off a cop’s ear. If you have a weak stomach or don’t like blood, don’t go.

Overall I really enjoyed the play. The first act was pretty much perfect. The second act dragged a bit with all the quick set changes and flashbacks, but it is much easier to do that in a movie than live on stage.

Before I fully endorse going to see the show, I must point out a major inconvenience I experienced at the show. They were having some major air conditioning problems and in Florida in July, that is a problem. The first act we sat in the main seating area on the front of the stage about 3 rows up. This put us only a few feet away from some of the par cans hanging for the stage lighting.

If you’ve never worked with stage lighting, it gets VERY hot. By intermission I was sweating like a pig and was feeling VERY uncomfortable. Luckily the show wasn’t a full sell out so we moved off to the stage left seating area after intermission and enjoyed a cooler (still somewhat warm) second half. Had it continued being that hot, I would have had a hard time sticking around for the whole show.

The other problem with the lack of A/C and air movement was from the live cigarette smoking. I don’t smoke, and don’t enjoy second hand smoke, but I can deal with it in a decently ventilated area. Unfortunately, the small space filled with the nasty smoke very quickly. Intermission came just in time to get some fresh air to avoid hacking up a lung. Maybe as a suggestion in the future, when the A/C doesn’t work, use some fake cigs. I know it isn’t as “real” but it’ll make your audience (who are paying your bills) much more comfortable.

I hope that GOAT is able to get the A/C fixed for their last weekend of shows so that you don’t have to worry about the temperature at all, but if they haven’t, or you just want to be safe, take a seat on the sides. The views are still just as good, but you’ll be more comfortable.

As I said before, I enjoyed the show and if you are looking for some good local theater in Orlando, I think you should go see it. GOAT has their growing pains, but they are getting there and are putting on a good show right now.

Go see GOAT’s Reservoir Dogs in Winter Park Friday the 24th or Saturday the 25th at 8:00pm. You can get directions from Google Maps.

3 Responses to “Resrevoir Dogs”

  1. Frank Lipscomb July 21, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    If you would like to get your HVAC system working to perfection, or advice on how that may be accomplished, give us a call. 407-240-1557 or e-mail me: Frank@AccurateAirandHeat.com.
    Thx. and Yes, I’m Irv Lipscomb’s cousin

  2. Tara July 22, 2009 at 3:25 am #

    that was pretty much the only show that the ac failed us. new space new problems but glad you liked it overall!

  3. Steve Hurst July 25, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    Glad you found my performance disturbing. I’m a non-smoker as well so I’m right there with you.

Leave a Reply

