EA Sports Active Week 1

13 Jul

Let me start out by saying I’m not sure that I will be turning this into a weekly thing and I’m also not sure if I will be bringing back my Wii Fit weekly post, but I wanted to show that I’m still trying to sweat off the fatness and for my birthday I received a new Wii game to use. My parents bought me EA Sports Active (a game that my mom is also using).

EA Sports Active!

EA Sports Active!

That is my main page. Yesterday I got only 50% because I didn’t spend the extra time to fill out my “fitness survey” that asks you about what you ate and how much exercise you got the day before.

The main part of the game is the “30 Day Challenge.” In the 30 days you have 20 workouts. The game gives you suggested “rest days” every couple days and I suggest you use them!

My month so far! Go me!!

My month so far! Go me!!

Let me start off by telling you that this game OFFICIALLY kicks my ass! Every single workout has been tough and I’ve woken up sore from, not to mention the dripping sweat off of my entire body. I have kept my setting to use the balance board (the ones in green are “balance board days”) and using the medium intensity. What is medium intensity? Let me show you what today’s workout consisted of.

That is only the first half!

That is only the first half!

Ouch!

Ouch!

So how do you do these workouts? Well, only the ones that say “Wii Balance Board” use the balance board. The other exercises use just the Wii Remote and nunchuk along with a leg strap:

My hot leg with wireless nunchuk (new gadget)

My hot leg with wireless nunchuk (new gadget)

And a resistance band:

That water bottle recieved at my 10 year reunion has come in handy!

That water bottle received at my 10 year reunion has come in handy!

Resistance band in action (kinda):

That hot leg again!

That hot leg again!

So you just watch the screen and do what it tells you to do…

Before every exercise there is a screen like this!

Before every exercise there is a screen like this!

If you’ve never done the exercise before (or just want some tips) you can watch a very nice video with your trainer of choice (yea, I chose the girl because I thought she wouldn’t yell at me for sucking).

Video showing me how to pass the ball in basketball

Video showing me how to pass the ball in basketball

While doing the exercise you see your character (that you can customize) doing the exercise and the trainer in the lower right hand corner telling you what to do. On the upper left is your running calorie count (estimation of course) and on the upper right is your time spent exercising. Here is kinda what it looks like (sorry for the crappy photo but exercising and taking a picture is not easy).

There I am

There I am!

The game estimates how many calories you will burn over the course of the activities, and because I’m fat and slow I always burn more. YAY!

Estimation projection graph...

Estimation projection graph...

Actual estimation...

Actual estimation...

The game also sets goals for you:

Go me!

Go me!

The top and bottom goals were based on a weeks worth of workouts, the center is based on a months worth, so go me!

The game is definitely a HUGE step up from Wii Fit for me. I have sweat through the leg band (gross I’m sorry) and have woken up more than once the next day thinking I would be unable to get out of bed. If you are looking to get some good workouts at home and you have a Nintendo Wii, check this game out! JC is excited about trying out the game when she gets back in town and since she actually has a gym membership and works with a personal trainer, she can probably tell me how good of a workout it actually is!

You’ll note above that I showed a picture of a wireless nunchuck…I bought this because I found some of the exercises were difficult for a man of my, ummm, size. The cord just isn’t long enough. The best scenario would be a longer cord, but the wireless nunchuk made worked very well. There was only one exercise where it didn’t recognize one of the motions and I had to get the corded one out.

Here it is

Here it is

One Response to “EA Sports Active Week 1”

  1. sunshinekmp July 13, 2009 at 10:36 am #

    Good job! Keep it up. (And even if JC says it’s not that great of a workout…..1. You are doing something which is better than nothing and 2. You are burning calories!)

Leave a Reply

