Baked Pork Chops with Apple Stuffing

7 May

Swine flu has made me crave pork chops like you wouldn’t believe…so I made some! Publix had packages of “assorted chops” for only $.75 a pound! I found this new (to me) recipe on FoodFit.com. This site is full of healthy and tasty recipes. You can view the recipe here along with full nutritional information!

Since certain people are always bugging me for cooking posts, lets get to it!

What you need...

What you need...

Ingredients:

  1. 4 pork chops (I had three)
  2. 2 tablespoons olive oil
  3. 1 medium yellow onion (chopped)
  4. 1/4 cup celery (chopped)
  5. 2 tart apples (peeled, cored and chopped – I didn’t peel mine)
  6. 1 1/2 cups bread cubes (I made my own by hacking up a day old baguette)
  7. 1/4 cup fresh parsley (chopped)
  8. 1/4 cup apple cider
  9. 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard (I used the same whole seed mustard from my salad)

The first thing I did was get my onion, celery and apples chopped up:

Apples...

Apples...

Onion...

Onion...

Celery

Celery

Now that that is out of the way pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees and get a skillet (or pan) with one tablespoon of olive oil heating over medium-high heat.

Season your chops then brown them for about two minutes on each side:

Hot Hot Hot

Hot Hot Hot

Then transfer the chops to a baking dish and lower heat to medium. Add another tablespoon of olive oil and cook the onion and celery until they are soft:

Looking good...

Looking good...

Then add the apples and cook for five minutes:

I love me some baked apples...yummy

I love me some baked apples...yummy

Remove from heat and then add the bread cubes and parsley:

Coming together...

Coming together...

Now add enough cider to moisten the mixture nicely. Season with salt and pepper:

Ready to move on...

Ready to move on...

Top your chops with the mustard:

A nice layer for the stuffing to adhere too...

A nice layer for the "stuffing" to adhere too...

Top each chop with stuffing and pat it down into the mustard:

Cant see the chops...

Can't see the chops...

About now is when I am going to note that I was aiming for a “rustic” look. I know you may want to call it a “mess” but I’ll stick with “rustic.”

Bake this for 20 minutes and out it will look like this:

Yummy

Yummy

Here it is plated up with a small salad and a pasta side I made from a packet:

Dinner is served!

Dinner is served!

The most important part of any dinner is the taste of course! As you probably know the combination of pork and apples is a sure winner and the bit of the mustard was a nice balance. This one plate filled me up pretty good, and I hadn’t had lunch! I definitely recommend trying this recipe out for your family…

For me I just had a bunch of leftovers for work lunches this week. One of these days I’ll actually cook for someone else, maybe!

2 Responses to “Baked Pork Chops with Apple Stuffing”

  1. dee May 7, 2009 at 7:04 am #

    This certain someone thinks this looks yummy! It looks like a lot of msutard though, was the mustard taste really strong?

    • Joe O. May 7, 2009 at 7:07 am #

      I probably should have noted that I used WAY over the recipes “1 tbs” but I really like the taste of that mustard. It still didn’t completely over power the taste of the apples or pork, but if you aren’t a huge fan of mustard, then I’d say back it off and you will have no problems.

Leave a Reply

