Blue Cheese Meat Loaves with Buffalo Sauce

25 Apr

Yes! A cooking post! I found this in one of those grocery store checkout line cookbooks. It is from the ground beef side of Pillsbury budget recipes. This recipe makes large meatballs and uses the popular wing sauce/blue cheese flavor profile. The recipe only has 4 steps!

I love cookbook pictures!

I love cookbook pictures!

First off, here is what you will need:

NOTE: The cookbook called for 1/2 pound of ground beef, but since they only sell it in 1 pound plus at my store I decided to double everything. I will list as the recipe does…

  1. 1/2 lb. lean ground beef
  2. 1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese
  3. 2 tbs Italian style bread crumbs
  4. 2 tbs chopped fresh parsley
  5. 2 tbs chopped red onion
  6. 1/4 cup salsa
  7. 1 tablespoon buffalo wing sauce

Start by pre-heating your oven to 350 degrees then mix together the beef, cheese, bread crumbs, parsley and onion:

Everybody in...

Everybody in...

All mixed up

All mixed up

Press mixture into four adjoining ungreased medium muffin cups (at least 1 1/4 inches deep). It was at this point I realized that I do not actually own a muffin pan! So off to Publix and now I own one!

I have six jumbo muffin cups filled with my double recipe

I have six "jumbo muffin" cups filled with my double recipe

Bake for twenty minutes. NOTE: IF you think you may have overfilled your cups, or just want to be safe (like me) and don’t have a self-cleaning oven (like me) put a cookie sheet one shelf below just in case you drop some liquid.

Meanwhile, mix together the salsa and buffalo sauce:

Dont worry...it is a different bowl...

Don't worry...it is a different bowl...

Mix well and set aside to let it come together…

After 20 minutes take the muffin pan out and drain any excess fat/liquid:

Just out of the oven...

Just out of the oven...

The cookbook has a “tip” to spoon out the loaves on to a plate and just drain…so here is how much excess I had:

Yummy...not!

Yummy...not!

Get them back in their places and back in the oven for an additional ten to fifteen minutes (or until the meats internal temperature reaches 160 degrees!).

Looks yummy

Looks yummy

Plate and pour some of the salsa/buffalo sauce and a little parsley for garnish and serve!

Dinner is served

Dinner is served

Some mashed potatoes would have worked here, but I didn’t have any. So some corn and a small salad rounded out my meal!

These little guys tasted pretty good. The obvious cool/hot flavor combination that has worked in many other places with the blue cheese and the hot sauce was delicious. The meat loaves were crisp on the outside but still juicy in the middle. I used ground sirloin so there was limited fat and a lot of that was probably drained off. It isn’t the healthiest meal I’ve posted here, but it wasn’t the worst.

If you are a fan of hot wings with cool blue cheese to dip it in, you will probably like this! If not, go and try something else new!

Leave a Reply

