Kentucky (Un)Fried Chicken

23 Apr

If you have been watching television recently you may have noticed that Kentucky Fried Chicken is doing something different. Grilled chicken. I know that they have had a grilled chicken breast sandwich for about a year, but this is actually buckets of grilled chicken. Grilled chicken breasts, thighs and legs. An interesting thought, but one I’m sure they are doing to try to lure the millions of us trying to be healthy!

I must preface this review with the fact that I HATE my local KFC/Taco Bell. It is literally the slowest fast food restaurant on the face of the Earth. It can take 20 minutes to get your order and then there is absolutely no guarantee it will be correct. Today I went in a for a late lunch hoping there would be no other customers and that would allow them to serve me in a “fast” time. I was right. It was sad to see that with no one in the drive-thru and me being the only one in line that it took them five minutes and five different people were involved in my meal. Check past the break for the taste test:

The current special 2-piece meal.

The current special 2-piece meal.

I decided on ordering their special $3.99 meal. This meal comes with a drumstick and thigh along with two sides and a biscuit. You can, for an up charge, have a chicken breast instead, but I think the thighs have more flavor anyways. The meal doesn’t come with a soda, but you can also add that for $1 more. I didn’t need one because I make my own soda! The normal price for this meal would be $4.89 (at my KFC).

First thing I noticed is that the chicken looks rather small, but then again KFC’s normal breading is pretty think. Even so, this meal was more than enough for me at lunchtime (I think the dieting has cause my stomach to shrink).

I was worried what the chicken would taste like since KFC’s signature eleven herbs and spices are in the breading! Well, the skin had a nice bite and the chicken was unbelievably juicy and was rather pleasant to eat. There is some seasoning on the skin that probably was a little too salty for some tastes, but I’m not sure if that is how every piece will taste. The juicy chicken quickly makes up for it though, so don’t make that a reason not to try it out.

I know from experience that most fast food chicken sandwiches are full of dry chicken. They try, but it is really easy to overcook a chicken. KFC seems to have found a trick to it, I wonder if they are using a pressure cooker in some manner (that is how they quickly make juicy fried chicken).

So all in all it is a good alternative to the fried chicken that they normally sell. I’m sure it just isn’t the same to reach into a big paper tub and pull out grilled chicken, but it will be tasty none the less!

5 Responses to “Kentucky (Un)Fried Chicken”

  1. Willa Krause May 9, 2009 at 2:23 am #

    The site for the free unfried meal was so busy that I could not get into it to get my free coupon for the raincheck. So is there still a chance to get a coupon?

    Sincerely,
    Willa Krause

    • Willa Krause May 9, 2009 at 2:31 am #

      Kentucky chicken is our favorite chicken from a fast food place.

  2. Willa Krause May 9, 2009 at 2:37 am #

    Kentucky Fried Chicken ia our favorite place for chicken. I am anxious to try the “un-fried” chicken

  3. Nomad May 12, 2009 at 12:38 am #

    i think it’s safe to say that the KFC brand was hurt at least a little bit due to recent events with their supposedly free grilled chicken

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. FREE KFC UnFried Chicken TODAY! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 27, 2009

    […] 27, 2009 by Joe O. Remember just the other day I told you about KFC’s new grilled chicken??? Well, now you can go try […]

Leave a Reply

