Spiced Pork Chops with Sweet Potatoes

18 Apr

Cook Book

Cookbook

This is the second recipe that I have made from Gordon Ramsay’s Healthy Appetite cookbook. This one is a bit more substantial than the Mango, Avacado, and Smoked Chicken Salad I did a while back. This time I decided while flipping through the beautiful pages to make Ramsay’s Spiced Pork Chops with Sweet Potatoes.

This recipe was still relatively simple and I was able to throw it together after getting home from work, but before going out to karaoke at Big Daddy’s! I love me some karaoke with DJ Di! This meal helped power me to an amazing rendition of “You Outta Know” by Alanis Morrisette.

This recipe didn’t have a photo in the cookbook, which is sad, but here is a pic of the recipe!

The recipe

The recipe...I know that pic is pointless

What you will need:

  1. 4 bone-in pork chops (about 10oz each)
  2. 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder
  3. 1 teaspoon sweet paprika
  4. 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  5. “few” thyme sprigs
  6. 4 garlic cloves (un-peeled)
  7. 5-6 star anise (lightly smashed)
  8. 1 teaspoon coriander seeds (lightly crushed)
  9. 3 large sweet potatoes
  10. 1 red chile (trimmed, seeded and minced)
  11. “bunch” of cilantro (chopped)

Here is what I had:

The line-up

The line-up

Ok, if you look close, you will notice that I don’t have exactly all the right stuff. First, I didn’t have “sweet” paprika, just plain old paprika. I didn’t worry about that because it is “spiced pork chops.” I didn’t have any coriander seeds, just some ground coriander and I didn’t have fresh Star Anise, so it is a jar. I also didn’t have a chile. Yes, I took some artistic privilege with the cooking, but I was only cooking for me anyways so who cares!

First step is to mix the chili powder, paprika, salt and pepper with the olive oil in a baking dish:

The marinade

The beginning of the "marinade"

Next add the thyme, garlic (not peeled), star anise and coriander seeds:

Ready to marinade

Ready to "marinade"

It was about this time I realized I had made a major tactical error. My pork chops would not all fit in this dish, so I dumped all of this into a larger baking dish, then added a little more of the seasonings and olive oil to cover for the loss.

Next put each chop in and flip over to coat:

I love me some chops

I love me some chops

The reason I was putting marinade in quotes is that I’ve never seen a marinade that didn’t at least mostly cover what it was marinading! I was skeptical, checked the recipe MULTIPLE times, but decided that Ramsay is a much smarter man than I and went for it.

Go ahead and cover these and put them in the fridge for thirty minutes to overnight to soak up the flavors. I only had about forty minutes, so that is what it got!

Unfortunately for me this recipe also called for peeling something. After the mangos and sweet potatoes I have decided that peels and rinds are one of God’s little jokes on us. “Here is some yummy food stuffed inside this inedible tough skin!” But I did it:

I didnt say I did it well!

I didn't say I did it well!

Now slice your sweet potatoes into 5/8 inch slices (I swear!):

I didnt measure...

I didn't measure...

So your marinated pork chops come out to the counter to warm up a bit while you pre-heat your oven to 350!

Done marinating

Done marinating

These go into the oven for 15 minutes (or until done). Meanwhile get a pot of salted water boiling and then cook the sweet potatoes for 7-8 minutes. They should NOT be completely cooked yet, but should be close:

Nice spa!

Nice spa!

Drain the potatoes and run them under cool water for a minute to cool them to working temperature. Next dice up the sweet potatoes:

Try to make them more even in size than mine...

Try to make them more even in size than mine...

If you time it right, like I did, the chops should be coming out of the oven:

Dont know why they look that pink...they were a bit past medium

Don't know why they look that pink...they were a bit past medium

Remove the chops to a warmed plate and cover with some aluminum foil to wait for the potatoes to finish.

First take the garlic and squeeze them out of their inedible peels (should come out easily), add the chile (that I didn’t have) and then dump your diced sweet potatoes into the dish:

Stir the yummy goodness into them

Stir the yummy goodness into them

Put this into the still 350 degree oven for ten minutes, stirring the potatoes a couple times during the cooking. Out they come done:

I dont know why I took this pic the other way

I don't know why I took this pic the other way

If you are following the recipe you would mix in the cilantro to the potatoes, but I didn’t have any…Oh well!

Plate and serve! I personally served this with a nice small salad for extra vegetable goodness.

No I didnt eat the thyme sprigs...

No I didn't eat the thyme sprigs...

I definitely didn’t stick to the letter of the recipe, but I still LOVED this recipe. The spices worked perfectly together and the chop ended up really juicy! It probably would have been even better with the extra spice in the sweet potatoes, but I still thought that they were wonderful. They really soaked up the juices from the chops and had a wonderful spicy pork flavor!

So far Ramsay’s Healthy Appetite is 2 for 2! I hope you go out and try this in your own kitchen! Healthy eating isn’t really that difficult. You can do it!!!

2 Responses to “Spiced Pork Chops with Sweet Potatoes”

  1. Recipe man April 18, 2009 at 7:52 am #

    looks good
    and rather easy to cook
    thanks!

  2. dee April 21, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    I love the cooking blogs. Everything looks so good !

Leave a Reply

