Sake by SakeOne

26 Mar

As I’ve told you before I enjoy Woot.com and its sister sites. I’ve purchased many a shirt from Shirt.Woot and gadgets from Woot! What I have never written about is the fact that I have also purchased my fix of wine from Wine.Woot!

The booty!

The booty!

Wait a minute, that isn’t wine! You are trying to trick me! Yes, I have also (twice now) purchased sake from Wine.Woot! Both times it was from America’s own SakeOne!

SakeOne is America’s one and only America owned sake brewery! Kick ass! So far I find that I am the rare soul who enjoys some good sake! My ex wife spit it out (even the flavored stuff!) and my mom calls it lighter fluid. Oh well I think it is yummy!

From Wine.Woot I got six bottles for $41.99 + $5  shipping. Two 750ml bottles of SakeOne’s Moonstone Coconut Lemongrass Sake, two 300ml bottles of SakeOne’s Momokawa Organic Nigori and two 300ml bottles of SakeOne’s Momokawa Organic Junmai Ginjo. My previous order consisted of three different flavors of the Moonstone Sakes.

It is kinda apparent in the picture above, but the Nigori and the Moonstone are unfiltered sakes. They are cloudy and almost milky looking. This can be a mind trick because your mind sees this and is expecting a dairy feel and taste and that is absolutely NOT what you are going to find. My mom will love to hear me admit this, but it will be closer to lighter fluid than it will be to milky, BUT don’t ever just take one sip of sake! You have to try it for a few sips before you make your ultimate decision.

Today I decided to make a Saketini! Here is what I used:

mmmmm

mmmmm

It is hard to see, but there is JUST barely enough Beefeater left for one martini, so this is a service for one. ME! Recipe was real easy, equal parts of each the gin and sake. No garnish (I’m not a huge fan of olives anyways). I put together a Boston Strainer using a couple of plastic cups, added ice, sake, gin and shook. Out came this:

MMMMmmmmm Alcohol!

MMMMmmmmm Alcohol!

I’ll have to admit that this wasn’t the best martini I’ve ever had. The organic ginjo was overpowered by the Beefeater. It was still good, but I think I may have chosen a sake that isn’t quite strong enough. Next time I might use more sake and less gin!

I know that sake is not for everyone, but I recommend you try it (unless your pregnant – I’m looking at two specific people). Next time you are out to dinner at Kobe or another Japanese steakhouse try one. Or maybe the next time you are at Disney World! Yes, Disney World! Go to the Japanese pavilion at EPCOT and there is a nice person in the back who will serve you up some sake (not for free of course).

3 Responses to “Sake by SakeOne”

  1. Libbey March 26, 2009 at 10:09 pm #

    Yes for sake, no for sipping. oh, and i’m wondering if the sake martini might have been more balanced with vodka instead. looking back, this post makes it seem like a drink alot….

  2. dee March 27, 2009 at 9:59 am #

    Sake is the best mixed with plum wine. Yummy! Or a sake bomb is good too!

  3. kori March 27, 2009 at 10:17 pm #

    do you have peach sake?

Leave a Reply

