EPCOT International Flower & Garden Festival 2009

21 Mar

On Thursday mom and I went to the 2009 EPCOT International Flower & Garden Festival and just like last year, I took LOTS of photos! For whatever reason the day we went EPCOT was PACKED! I’ve never seen over an hour wait for Spaceship Earth before and I would never wait that long for that ride, but people were doing it!

I am going to start out with something that I found at the festival, but not necessarily related to it. A while back I went to Disney’s Hollywood Studios by myself and I saw a guy wearing an awesome hat. It was white with Donald’s feet sticking out of the top. So its similar to the Mickey ears but Donald always ends up upside down. I checked the shops and nothing. I talked to some friends, cast members, former cast members and everyone told me they had never seen nor heard of such a thing. I searched all over Downtown Disney and all over Magic Kingdom’s gift shops. At this point my mom thinks I’m crazy! While walking around EPCOT in the afternoon we passed the gift shop on the bridge between Future World and The World Showcase and this guy was trying it on. I saw it at a distance and bolted. Looking through this hat shop and NOTHING, only the one that the guy had put back on the counter. Mom is calling me crazy (because she still hadn’t seen it). FINALLY the guy leaves and I grab it and say I want it.

The girl laughs because they had JUST gotten a bag of these hats and she had just started putting tags on them. The other cashier had never even seen it before. Best part, the “novelty” hats were all 20% off, so now I have it!

The hat!

The hat!

Here is a pic my mom took of me wearing my new hat:

So sexy!

So sexy! Even with the tags still attached!

The main entrance this year was “Cinderellabration”

Awwwww

Awwwww

Along with Cinderella were the other Disney princesses:

I do NOT understand why he is in Beast form however...

I do NOT understand why he is in Beast form however...

Aurora (Sleeping Beauty)

Aurora (Sleeping Beauty)

Snow White doesnt have one date, she has SEVEN!

Snow White doesn't have one date, she has SEVEN!

The backside of this scene included Cinderella’s sweet ride:

From the Pumpkin Patch of course!

From the Pumpkin Patch of course!

Not sure as to how it relates to the Flower & Garden Festival, but there was this nifty sand sculpture:

Disney Nature eh?

Disney Nature eh?

These flowers were all over, I love this shot as the Monorail came through:

Im like a pro photographer or something...

I'm like a pro photographer or something...

At the entrance to the World Showcase, Simba’s birthday was being celebrated:

Straight outta the movie...

Straight outta the movie...

Offering the babe up to the great ball in the sky!

Offering the babe up to the great ball in the sky!

Scar and Zazu were there too...up to no good Im sure!

Scar and Zazu were there too...up to no good I'm sure!

Timon and Pumba doing what they do!

Timon and Pumba doing what they do!

Over at the UK they had their tea cup plants again, but this year (maybe they had it last year and didn’t notice) they offered a FREE tea tour! Being that I’ve recently become addicted to tea I thought we would go for it. The tea tour was sponsored by Twinnings and was guided by one of EPCOT’s wonderful international cast members straight from jolly old England! Lawerntino was his name:

Tino is NOT a topiary!

Tino is NOT a topiary!

The tour was very informative and ended with everyone getting a free sample of Twinning’s Pure Peppermint tea! If you are going to the Flower & Garden Festival this year make sure you stop by the UK and sign up for the tour!

Japan again had some wonderful bonsai’s on display:

A lot of time and hard work went into this!

A lot of time and hard work went into this!

One of the small kid areas was all about fitness for the kids. The topiaries in front of it had the different Disney characters staying fit:

Lift those weights Pluto!

Lift those weights Pluto!

Over near Canada Bambi and friends were enjoying the Florida sunshine:

Flower, Bambi and Thumper!

Flower, Bambi and Thumper!

Here is Minnie in her dress welcoming everyone to her butterfly garden:

That dress really is bright!

That dress really is bright!

A nice shot of a butterfly in the garden

A nice shot of a butterfly in the garden

There are MANY more photos in my album from my day! I just could not put them all here. Check out the slideshow and I hope anyone who can gets out to see these masterpieces in person. My photos don’t do them justice!

10 Responses to “EPCOT International Flower & Garden Festival 2009”

  1. infijess March 21, 2009 at 9:10 am #

    You are getting pretty fancy with that camera!

    Love the hat, big pimpin!

    • Joe O. March 21, 2009 at 10:26 am #

      Thanks Jess! The hat is the shit! You won’t believe how many comments I was getting and this time it wasn’t my shirt, though my shirt was AWESOME, it was one that doesn’t scream funny, so you have to be paying attention and tourists don’t pay attention!

      My mom has a better camera and my sis is the photographer in the family. I just point and shoot at things I think look cool…sometimes they come out good. Sometimes they don’t!

  2. dee March 21, 2009 at 10:18 am #

    Snow White is a skank 🙂 Beauty is pictured with the beast because its “Beauty and the Beast” not “Beauty and the prince that once was the Beast”. People wouldn’t get it. They would be like “who is that guy with Belle?” It looked really really fun. There is an awesome tea room in Lake Mary if you ever get brave enough you can take your mom. Their food is AWESOME if not served up a little girly. 😉

    • Joe O. March 21, 2009 at 10:27 am #

      Thanks Deana,
      I’ve googled around for tea places and they all seem really girly. Like 99.9% of the tea hardware you can find have flowers and pink…Not really for me…

      I get that people “recognize” Beast more, but I know that as of a year or two ago in their princess parade he would always be in human form…because he is a human now…It’s not like Shrek where the princess’ true form was Ogre! I guess I’m not helping my case by the fact that I cannot remember his name!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Posts about Butterflies as of March 21, 2009 | Sixways - Butterfly - March 21, 2009

    […] […]

  2. Les Chefs de France With a Special Guest! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - March 22, 2009

    […] 22, 2009 by Joe O. On Thursday mom and I spent the day at EPCOT’s International Flower & Garden Festival and we had lunch in France! We ate at the amazing Les Chefs de France. I’m going to start out […]

  3. Funny Picture Sites « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - March 24, 2009

    […] Silverspoon Photography is my sister’s company! Check out her awesome pics! They make my flower and garden photos look pretty shitty eh? Also, check out my sister’s kick ass tattoo at the bottom of […]

  4. Happy Cinco de Mayo…and other stuff « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - May 5, 2009

    […] I decided to wear one of my brand new Woot! shirts! Cupcakeasaur was a HUGE hit, along with my “duck butt hat.” […]

  5. Happy Birthday to Me!!!! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - June 7, 2009

    […] the exact product I got, but close enough). Also got a Mickey Mouse garden gnome (straight from the EPCOT International Flower & Garden Festival) which will be traveling with us on our trip this […]

  6. EPCOT International Flower & Garden Festival 2010 « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 7, 2010

    […] International Flower & Garden Festival! You can check out my previous visits from 2008 and 2009. While we are digging up old posts, remember my Nick Lachey encounter at EPCOT? How about my […]

Leave a Reply

