Archer Farms Morrocan Inspired Apricot Currant

20 Mar

Tonight I made Moroccan Inspired Apricot Currant Whole Wheat Couscous & Chicken Entree. I picked this up at Target and decided to try it out for my readers. It is a “meal in a box” from Archer Farms (Target’s brand).

Last week Target had a 15% clearance on all of their Archer Farms items, so I thought to give it a go. It was marked at $5.99 plus had 15% off! Definitely worth a try for what gave me dinner plus lunch the next day. So how was it?

First off, here is what was in the box:

Not much to it...

Not much to it...

Upper left is the sauce packet, upper right is the can of chicken, lower right is the couscous and the bottom left is the dried fruit. In addition to what is in the box you will need 3-1/4 cups water (divided), 2 tablespoons olive oil (divided) and 1/4 teaspoon salt.

First get a medium sauce pan (you’ll need two so for the sauce I actually used a slightly bigger pan) and put 1-3/4 cups water, 1 tablespoon olive oil and sauce packet over medium-high heat:

Everyone in the pool

Everyone in the pool

Bring that to a boil and cook for five minutes (or until sauce thickens):

A little hot...so I turned it down...

A little hot...so I turned it down...

Meanwhile you want to get 1-1/2 cup water, 1 tablespoon of olive oil and 1/4 teaspoon salt in a medium saucepan and bring it to a boil (not pictured). Once it boils stir in the couscous, remove from heat and cover. Let stand for five minutes and then fluff with a fork:

Finished couscous

This pic is out of order, for me the Couscous and sauce finished up together.

Open up your can of chicken and drain it:

Can O Chicken!

Can O' Chicken!

Now that your sauce is thickened stir in your DRAINED chicken:

Almost a meal...

Almost a meal...

Stir in the dried fruit:

Yumm

Yumm

Heat that through while you finish the couscous (above) and then plate:

A meal!

A meal!

I served this (to myself) with a side salad and overall I was VERY pleased. The couscous was the part I was most worried about, but it was nice and fluffy. The sauce had a nice spice but wasn’t hot and the bits of sweet fruit really played well in the mouth.

I’ve never eaten Moroccan food (that I know of) so I can’t compare it to some “real” Moroccan tastes. What I can say was this was a VERY easy delicious meal. The box says “Ready in less then 30 Minutes” and I think it only took me about 15 total, and I was taking pictures!

I must say that this has made me want to try more of the Archer Farms meals. Definitely a good value for money!

2 Responses to “Archer Farms Morrocan Inspired Apricot Currant”

  1. Kori March 23, 2009 at 12:07 am #

    No I believe that couscous tastes like ramen noddles except in small grains. I must try this stuff…

  2. Tara April 7, 2009 at 5:07 am #

    i purchased things in that sale too few more left to try but Archer Farms doesn’t disappoint much does it!

Leave a Reply

