Mango, Avacado, and Smoked Chicken Salad

17 Mar

I’m sorry this is late, but it is worth it!

The other night I decided to make a recipe out of my newest cookbook, Gordon Ramsay’s Healthy Appetite. Most (if not all) of these recipes come from Gordon’s BBC (now shown in re-runs on BBC America) The F Word. I love this show and my mouth waters at some of the food they make. Now I can try to make some of it.

Check back at the end to see if mine looked this pretty!

Check back at the end to see if mine looked this pretty!

Let me start out by saying this cookbook is AMAZING. It is hard cover and has a TON of beautiful pictures. Most of the recipes have pictures. There are also little portions of the book where Gordon gives healthy tips. Many of the recipes seem a little more complex than I’m used to, and they use ingredients that I find unusual. I decided to start out with this salad because it was relatively simple and the ingredients were readily available in Kissimmee, FL.

What you’ll need for the salad (serves 4):

  1. 2 ripe but firm mangoes
  2. 2 ripe avocados
  3. Squeeze of lemon juice
  4. 10oz smoked chicken (I substituted plain old chicken breasts I had in my freezer)
  5. 7oz mixed salad (recipe calls for arugula, Swiss chard and the like, I used a bagged baby spinach blend)
  6. 2tbs toasted pine nuts.

What you’ll need for the dressing:

  1. 2tbs orange juice
  2. 2tbs lemon juice (yes I used the stuff out of the plastic lemon)
  3. 1tbs whole grain mustard
  4. 2tbs extra virgin olive oil
  5. 1tbs avocado oil (Optional – I did not use because it was VERY expensive at the store) – You can substitute more EVOO according to the recipe.

So here is (most) of the goods:

Missing the EVOO

Missing the EVOO and salad.

The first thing I did was cook up my chicken, if you have some leftover smoked chicken, just chop it up into chunks.

Chunked up and cooking!

"Chunked up" and cooking!

I then put the chicken to the side to let it chill down a little. You may have noticed that I did not have toasted pine nuts, so I just threw them in the pan and gave them a little heat:

Sorry about the bad picture...

Sorry about the bad picture...

While the chicken and pine nuts were chilling out I decided to slice up my mangoes. I have never peeled/sliced a mango before and man did I suck at it. I got the peel off alright, but slicing it didn’t go so well, I ended up just with chunks instead of pretty slices.

Not my best work...

Not my best work...

I then halved the avocados and removed the pit CAREFULLY!

Yummy!

Yummy!

I have seen on Food Network the trick of slicing the avocados in their shell, Not perfect, but better than the mangoes!

Some nice slices

Some nice slices and yes, I only sliced one avocado.

As the recipe (and cooking knowledge) dictate that you splash your avocado’s with lemon juice once they are out of their shell so they don’t turn brown!

For the dressing add all ingredients to a bowl and whisk until combined:

I forgot to take the after shot, but it looked delicious.

I forgot to take the "after" shot, but it looked delicious.

Layer on your plate the mangoes, then avocados:

Building a masterpiece!

Building a masterpiece!

Next comes the nicely browned chicken:

Getting there!

Getting there!

Next comes the mixed salad:

Healthiness!

Healthiness!

Next a drizzle of the dressing:

One more step!

One more step!

Top with the toasted pine nuts:

And EAT!

And EAT!

My pictures do not do the salad the justice it deserves (I was hungry and in a rush so I didn’t take the time to take glamour shots!). When I first read the recipe I was worried about the combination of ingredients. Every single individual ingredient I loved, but I wasn’t sure about them all together. I had nothing to worry about, the dressing was a wonderful tangy and sharp balance to the cool mangoes and avocados. This is a very simple (if you know how to slice mangoes!) and VERY healthy recipe that I will be adding to my repertoire.

I very much look forward to cooking many more recipes out of Gordon Ramsay’s Healthy Appetite in the future, so check back for more! If you want to purchase this book, check out the Amazon.com links (every time I typed the full name of the book).

5 Responses to “Mango, Avacado, and Smoked Chicken Salad”

  1. dee March 18, 2009 at 4:46 am #

    I eat mangos all the time and still cannot slice them.. Love the cooking: hint: world market carries a lot of weird british items foods that you may be looking for!

    • Joe O. March 18, 2009 at 7:38 am #

      Thanks…they don’t carry stuff like Pidgins though…

  2. bugys January 27, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    Some very interesting information here, and a very interesting blog too.

    I will have to bookmark this and stop by more often.

    thanks.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spiced Pork Chops with Sweet Potatoes « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 18, 2009

    […] from Gordon Ramsay’s Healthy Appetite cookbook. This one is a bit more substantial than the Mango, Avacado, and Smoked Chicken Salad I did a while back. This time I decided while flipping through the beautiful pages to make […]

  2. Baked Pork Chops with Apple Stuffing « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - May 7, 2009

    […] 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard (I used the same whole seed mustard from my salad) […]

Leave a Reply

