Barenaked Ladies at Universal Orlando’s Mardi Gras!

10 Mar

On Saturday Rob, Mom and I went to Universal Studios Mardi Gras with Barenaked Ladies!! Unfortunately due to the crowd of very rude people mom left right before the concert, but we had a fun day before that with lunch at Margaritaville and a ride on MIB and one on The Simpson’s Ride.

After the rides we decided to go take a seat at the theater so we could have a good seat. While we walked over we went through the Mardi Gras party area and I recognized one of the stilt walkers! It was the OCCC’s own Event Manager Intern Celine!

She gave me a hug...awww

She gave me a hug...awww

My mom made sure to snap up pics of this…and here is an “official pose”:

She is tall :)

She is tall 🙂

Then Celine decided to embarass me (ok, actually, the pictures are out of order, the pose was the last shot, the beads tell the story):

Me listening intently to my instructions...

Me listening intently to my instructions...

So they made me “walk” like I was on the catwalk. Yea, really gay. Luckily, it doesn’t appear mom got any pictures of that. Also, it is hard to tell from the pic above but my gut has gotten smaller!

About to walk...

About to walk...

That look on my face tells me I’m not thrilled with what I was requested to do…but I was a good sport and did my best walk…and turns…and used my hips. It wasn’t pretty…

Anyways, while it was great to see Celine, the real reason we were there were some other reasons. This would be the first concert I’d seen on the new stage:

It looks really nice

It looks really nice

That green stuff isn’t grass! It is astroturf!

This is during line check so that is the drum tech...

This is during "line check" so that is the drum tech...

I’m zoomed in on the set to show the big “4” on the kick drum. That is interesting because this was the ladies first performance without Stephen Page, making them a foursome.

In the wider shot (two pics up) you can kinda see the red track peeking out on either side. This new stage is built right underneath where the new roller coaster will be, Hollywood Rip, Ride, Rockit! Here is the lift tower which is up, just missing all of the track!

That last step is a doozy!

That last step is a doozy!

Here is a view pre-show from out seat:

Ready and waiting

Ready and waiting

Finally, after the parade the Barenaked Ladies took the stage!

Rockin Out!

Rockin Out!

I love the new stage. Great sound, great view, big space!

I love the new stage. Great sound, great view, big space!

The Barenaked Ladies kicked ass! The show was rocking and the crowd was loving it! I was singing along with 99.9% of the songs. I was wondering on how they were going to do without one of their lead vocals they did pretty darn good. Kevin Hearn (keyboards) and Jim Creeggan (bass) took over the missing vocals. and backup to Ed (lead vocals and guitar). Tyler Stewart (drums) who they named “The Thing” during the show sang a lot of backup vocals also. Kevin struggled at times, but I think did a nice job. The funniest part was when Kevin was attempting to play the accordion and sing Steven’s part in “If I had $1,000,000.” Basically Kevin’s part was an echo of Ed’s, but he was struggling. Luckily the crowd sang the hell out of it. At one point Ed even told the crowd to just sing it because Kevin was struggling.

I don’t know how hard it is to play an accordion and sing, I do know that Weird Al does it, but his secret is that he plays a “youth size” accordion and not a full size one. I’ll cut him some slack, he is a busy guy during these shows. He has two keyboards, guitar, a virus sound effect thing (actually two) and he sings backup on a lot of songs. A very talented fellow I must say. When they played “Shopping” (normally led by Steven) Kevin dedicated the song to Stephen.

If you’ve never seen a BNL show, you may not know that stand-up comedy is a big part of their show. Ed raps, the band tells jokes, it is a good time had by all! These guys are truly entertainers. They took a loss of one of their band mates in stride and really played an awesome show.

This was my first time seeing them in concert and I was amazed at the musicianship and pure talent of all of the players. They are just really really good. I loved the show! Rob wants to go see MC Hammer on April 4th, so I’ll probably be back!

4 Responses to “Barenaked Ladies at Universal Orlando’s Mardi Gras!”

  1. sunshinekmp March 10, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    Glad you had fun!

  2. Helen March 10, 2009 at 6:15 pm #

    If you hunt around you can find a video of Weird Al playing accordion with BNL on “If I Had A Million Dollars.” Unfortunately, you can’t see him very well, but you can hear him. That was a full size accordion, since he borrowed it from the band when they asked him to come up on stage, and he acquitted himself very nicely.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quite Possibly the Most Amazing Thing I’ve Ever Seen « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - March 11, 2009

    […] 11, 2009 by Joe O. Thank you Helen. You commented on my BNL blog and led me to search for […]

  2. MC Hammer at Universal Orlando’s Mardi Gras « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 5, 2009

    […] all started with the fact that after the parade went by (about the time BNL took the stage and rocked the house) two Universal employees came out and started throwing beads: […]

Leave a Reply

