Mom’s New Toy!

5 Mar

So I didn’t have a chance to write a blog last night because I was busy setting up my mom’s new toy!

For years my mom has had to fight with my little brother for computer time to check her email, pay her bills and most importantly, read my blog! She often would get days behind on my blog! COMPLETELY unacceptable!

I always said she should just get a laptop, but never did I imagine that a fad would run through the computer world with this new “netbooks.” Which are really just REALLY small laptops.

Mom got a Dell Mini 9n. This is a 9 inch netbook loaded with Ubuntu (a Linux system) rather than Windows. The reason being, Windows is a resource hog and this little netbook is anything but a resource powerhouse.

This little baby came with a 1.6ghz processor, 512mb RAM, 4 GB SSD drive and built in wireless. I have never used Ubuntu before, but it was a breeze. In only about 20 minutes I had the computer set up and on the internet.

Since it doesn’t have Windows, no Internet Explorer and that is ok. I prefer Firefox anyways! It also came loaded with Open Office, which I HIGHLY recommend if you need a FREE office program. It will open Microsoft Office documents, so don’t worry about that!

Now, the downsides of this little baby. It doesn’t have much storage space, but you can upgrade that. Mom paid $185 (with a discount) for hers and she really REALLY doesn’t need the space. She just wants to be able to check her EMail while Daniel is blowing away enemies on WoW or something. The screen is small, but the space is used well by Ubunutu, so you could get used to it.

Finally, the biggest downfall (for me) is the keyboard. It is ITTY BITTY. Mom seemed to have no problems with it, I was constantly hitting the wrong keys/mashing two keys at once.

Bottom line, Ubuntu seems to kick ass, the little computer is fast and does exactly what we got it to do, so it should keep mom happy!

2 Responses to “Mom’s New Toy!”

  1. Kati March 5, 2009 at 9:21 am #

    Sounds like a great deal! Especially since it will do everything she needs it to do. I hope she enjoys her new computer…and stays up to date on your blog. (We wouldn’t want her to miss out on anything you might post about!) 🙂

  2. mom March 7, 2009 at 5:58 am #

    mom is very happy and since I only use 2 fingers on each hand to type the keyboard is just the right size

Leave a Reply

