Yogic Chai

25 Feb

While researching tea, before and after I ordered some from Adagio Teas, I was intrigued at some of the different varieties, including Chai. I had seen Chai offered up in coffee places like Starbucks but didn’t really understand what it was. When I googled Chai, I learned that Chai actually MEANS Tea in most Eastern languages. So I thought if it just means tea, then why in America do we have separate products named Chai.

My answer came when I received a comment on my tea blog from the owner of another blog, Tea Escapade. Over on her blog I found a post about Yogic Chai’s free samples! Anyone who knows me, or has read my blog for a while, knows how much I like free, so I checked it out!

Yogic Chai sells what is called traditional Masala Chai Tea (Chai!) which is a spiced tea. The site tells the story of a husband and wife company that makes the tea and sells it online. Since I had never tried Chai, or Masala Chai, I decided to take them up on their free sample offer. All I had to do was give them my email address and name and they emailed me their newsletter that I just replied back with my shipping information.

I signed up Thursday night at about midnight (according to my email time stamps) and I received my free sample in the mail Monday afternoon! That is a fast turn around! The sample came in a normal envelope, with my address handwritten on the front!

The letter

The letter

I, having never had Chai, ordered the plain old Original Masala Chai. Nothing fancy or other flavors, I just wanted to try the regular flavor. This Chai contains organic assam tea, organic green cardamom, organic cinnamon, organic cloves and organic ginger. You think it is organic? On the site and in the package I received it gave instructions for making the tea, and it wasn’t what I had found to be “normal” for tea.

Everything I needed...

Everything I needed...

The tea kettle actually was one of the many things that came with the house, and I had never actually used. I did have to go buy a strainer (seen later). The instructions told me to bring one cup (8 ounces) of water to a boil. I decided to make two cups, so I put two cups of water in my kettle and put it over medium heat.

Exciting photo?

Exciting photo?

Once my kettle started whistling I added two teaspoons of tea (one per cup).

Love the sharpie writing on the bag!

Love the sharpie writing on the bag!

One teaspoon coming in...

One teaspoon coming in...

The instructions then say to let the tea simmer on low heat for three to five minutes, four minutes later I added 1/2 cup of milk (1/4 cup per cup of water).

Milk!

Milk!

Everyone in the pool

Everyone in the pool

After simmering another two minutes it was time to strain into my cup. Check out the new strainer I bought:

Ready to strain!

Ready to strain!

A cup of Masala Chai from Yogic Chai!

A cup of Masala Chai from Yogic Chai!

The strainer did its job:

The bits

The bits

So how was the Chai? I enjoyed it a lot. With the milk and spices it took on more of a coffee feel, but not a coffee taste. The cinnamon and ginger were definitely two of the stronger flavors that my tongue detected. I could picture myself sitting back on a cool Sunday morning sipping some Chai, it was delicious. Thanks to the spice and milk it was more substantial than tea, but definitely not bitter like most coffee I’ve had.

If you have had Chai elsewhere and enjoyed it, or if you are looking for some new hot beverage to replace your morning pot of black coffee, check Yogic Chai out! What are you going to lose? Sign up for a free sample!

3 Responses to “Yogic Chai”

  1. infijess February 25, 2009 at 11:31 am #

    I’m not a huge chai fan … it is distinctive though! .. can also be made with soy 😉

    • Joe O. February 25, 2009 at 11:40 am #

      They recommend using Organic milk or soy milk yes…but I drink good old regular 2% milk.

  2. teaescapade March 20, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    I’m so glad you enjoyed your chai. I happen to love chai tea – it is such a wonderful treat and Yogic Chai has more varieties of chai than any other tea company I’ve ever seen.

Leave a Reply

