Formula 1 2009!

21 Feb

I am a pretty big sports fan. My favorite sport is football, GO DOLPHINS! But I also enjoy racing a lot. My dad’s watching of NASCAR got me hooked and we have gone to multiple races in Daytona and one in Atlanta.

As you know NASCAR races are normally on ovals and go around in circles. While I don’t find this boring, I know many people do. I enjoy road courses even more, but NASCAR’s Sprint Cup only visits two road courses a year.

Formula 1 is ALL road courses! This makes up for the fact that 99% of the races are shown in the US between 3 and 5 in the morning (thank God for DVR’s). This past off-season has seen some of the largest rule changes in the history of F1. More changes are coming for 2010 due to the economy’s impact on racing. F1 is expensive and requires huge budget sponsors in order for a team to compete.

Explaining these changes to even a seasoned fan is difficult, not to mention explaining it to people who don’t watch any racing, like many of my readers. However, I found this awesome video from Red Bull Racing not to be confused with their sister team Scuderia Toro Rosso (Team Red Bull in Italian). This video shows off their new car and uses some great animation to show the changes from last year to this year. Check it out!

One Response to “Formula 1 2009!”

  1. Kori February 21, 2009 at 11:35 pm #

    What the hell! why would you want to watch a car go around in a circle?

Leave a Reply

