ingenuiTEA by Adiago Teas

19 Feb

My mom thinks that this is weird, but I do NOT like coffee. I do enjoy something like a caramel macchiato or other  super modified coffee drink. Load it up with lots of sugar and other flavoring to make it NOT taste like coffee and I will drink it. What I didn’t know until recently, I enjoy tea.

At the Florida Mall there is a store called Teavana that sells loose leaf tea and lots of expensive accessories. They also let you taste a few different varieties in their store, every day there seems to be a few different ones. The sales people will also talk your ear off about how great the tea is for you and the different teapots and cups you should have.

Well, I don’t have a lot of money to sink into this, so I was looking for a simple solution. I noticed they had what they call the Perfect Tea Maker but in the store it was like $25! (I did see online that it is only $17.95) When I was doing some research online (of course) I ran across Adagio Teas which had better reviews and had what they call the ingenuiTEA, the ingenious teapot. They sell them in a starter set with four samples of tea for only $19!

What I got!

What I got!

So I purchased one 16oz ingenuiTEA with the black tea sampler set. I also decided to order the Oolong sampler set. Each sampler set has four 2oz tins of teas. The starter set also came with a book called A Guide to Tea. Grand total with shipping was $31 and I got everything you see above, which includes the free gift of an extra 2oz tin of tea. The gift is for the Gemini blend!

So in total I got eight tins of tea:

All my teas!

All my teas!

In addition to the Gemini, I also received Wuyi Ensemble, Jasmine #5, Oolong #8 and Ti Kuan Yin in the Oolong Sampler and Earl Grey Bravo, English Breakfast, Irish Breakfast and Yunnan Jig in the Black Sampler.

Part of the reason I purchased this tea maker is because I have cut most soda out of my diet and have completely eliminated my daily Amp energy tallboy that I used to have to wake up. Unfortunately this has led to the consequence of having a REALLY hard time getting my body up and running.

The ingenuiTEA is perfect for making a quick cup of tea and I can even use it easily at work! Today I brought the camera and tea to work to try it out, for you my readers of course!

Filled with hot water!

Filled with hot water!

I used one of the convention centers massive coffee brewers to get the hot water. It had a hot water tap on the side. It isn’t going to work for my dark teas (which my book says should get 212 degree water) because it only spit out water that was 175. For this lighter blend it worked:

The tea!

The tea!

Not the best picture, I know, but that is the open tin of the Gemini Blend. I was intrigued by the aroma of this tea, so I made it my first try. It is actually a blend of White Monkey (green tea), White Peach and White Peony (white teas).

Just from opening the tin the dominant aroma is peach. After brewing it is even more pronounced, which worried me that I was going to be drinking hot peach juice, but it wasn’t!

DISCLAIMER: I am not, and am not presenting myself as an expert tea drinker. I’m not even an experienced tea drinker. I’m a beginner and am just going to try to relate to you what I feel about the tea. I won’t be able to use the correct jargon or describe the flavors well, but I’ll do my best.

On first sip I immediately recognized that the dominant flavor of the tea comes from the green tea (White Monkey) with subtle undertones of the peach and other flavors. The tea wasn’t bitter at all and left a pleasant after taste. I will definitely be trying this again to try to pick out more flavors on my palate.

Now, I got a bit ahead of myself. I obviously made the tea using my ingenuiTEA. Here is how…

I placed two teaspoons (the book/box recommend one teaspoon per cup) in the hot water and let it steep for about three minutes (again based on recommendation of the book).

Tea floating in the water

Tea floating in the water

With this ingenious teapot you just sit the ingenuiTEA on top of your cup and it filters!

Filtering into my glass!

Filtering into my glass!

I apologize for not having a clear cup for you to see what is going on, but you can see a video I’ve embedded from YouTube.

This is a good video of how the ingenuiTEA works, this person didn’t let the tea steep for long enough, but you can see the nifty filtering part that I can’t show you.

The ingenuiTEA has a filter on the bottom and a base that when pushed up allows the tea to flow through the filter and into your glass. The feet on the outside of the pot prevent the water from escaping before you have a proper glass placed.

After drinking all you have left are the leaves at the bottom of your ingenuiTEA:

Tea leaves

Tea leaves

I just dumped out the leaves and rinsed out the ingenuiTEA and it is ready to go for more tea!

I knew from my research that this was going to be a fast and simple way to make tea, and it was!  I read online that having the loose teas allow the leaves to open up and release more of their flavor, which makes it better than tea bags.

I don’t really know, I just know this was REALLY good tea and a neat way to do it. I love gadgets, especially ones that I can get use out of! I hope everyone enjoyed today’s post and maybe will try out some tea next time you have a chance!

11 Responses to “ingenuiTEA by Adiago Teas”

  1. Adagio Teas February 19, 2009 at 8:42 am #

    Thanks for the very detailed review of our ingenuiTEA teapot. I hope you are enjoying the teas as well.

    • Joe O. February 19, 2009 at 8:46 am #

      Thanks for checking out the blog!

      I am enjoying the teas! Only had it a couple days, but I’ve been trying a different tea each time so I can figure out which ones I like and want to re-order.

      The Gemini blend is my favorite so far!

  2. sunshinekmp February 19, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    Good review. Glad you are liking your tea!

  3. infijess February 19, 2009 at 11:46 am #

    Sounds awesome! I love African Red Tea 🙂

    I have also heard that loose tea is better than bags.

    Yerba Mate is a great wake up tea. Traditionally is is brewed in a gourd and sucked up through a metal filtering straw. Tres Metro 😉

    I think that would be quite a handy thing to have at work!!

    And kudos for giving up the Amp!!!

  4. Kori February 19, 2009 at 3:29 pm #

    mmm tea good

  5. teaescapade February 19, 2009 at 11:31 pm #

    Thanks for sharing. I have truly been pleased every time I order from Adagio. Also, their prices are very reasonable – especially if you order one of their samplers. Tea is a wonderful thing. I’m glad you have discovered tea for your self.

  6. Tara March 12, 2009 at 11:55 pm #

    this looks amazing! i love tea and with giving up soda… tea is life

  7. Monique April 1, 2009 at 4:39 pm #

    i LOVE Adagio tea! I think im getting the ingenuitea today!

  8. Sunshine July 24, 2009 at 1:49 am #

    that is cool, I think I have to get one. I drink at lot of tea with loose leaves and it hard to find one that easy and less messy!!! I gotta go get one now!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wu-Yi Tea and Oolong Teas Are the Same Tea - February 19, 2009

    […] ingenuiTEA by Adiago Teas  […]

  2. Yogic Chai « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - February 25, 2009

    […] 25, 2009 by Joe O. While researching tea, before and after I ordered some from Adagio Teas, I was intrigued at some of the different varieties, including Chai. I had […]

Leave a Reply

