Soda Club USA

18 Feb

This evening when I got home I was SOOOOO excited when I saw I got not one, but TWO packages! The bigger package is what I will be talking about today, check tomorrow for a post about what else I got!

If you remember back to the beginning of the month I posted about how I WON! something! Here is a quick re-cap, I entered a contest on Two of a Kind, Working on a Full House and I won! I won an AWESOME starter kit from Soda Club USA. You can see the kit here. I got the black/silver one!

The box!

The box!

This is the first item I’ve ever received with this:

Hazardous!

Hazardous!

This is because of the CO2 canisters contained in the box. Once I opened the box I had all of this:

More than I even expected!

More than I expected!

So it came with the Fountain Stream starter kit (see below), an extra CO2 canister, a 12 trial size sampler, a 3 pack trial of “MyWater” (more on that later) and 3 full size SodaMix bottles.

The starter kit!

The starter kit!

So it came with the Fountain Stream, one CO2 canister (for a total of 2) and two specialized 1-liter bottles to make the soda in!

Setup was a breeze! Just twist the CO2 canister into the back of the Fountain Stream:

Thats it

That's it

Put the back on and you are ready to make soda! To make soda you fill up the bottle (to the line) with water (and then the instructions tell you to chill it). I skipped that step by just filling it with my chilled and filtered water out of my fridge!

Plain old water!

Plain old water!

Then twist the bottle into the front of the machine:

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

You then push the button on the top firmly and quickly until you hear three buzzes (for standard fizz). When the bottle comes out, the water is carbonated!

Bubbles!

Bubbles!

Next just pick a flavor:

Petes Choice! (Dr. Pepper)

Pete's Choice! (Dr. Pepper)

Fill up the cap:

Flavor! Yumm

Flavor! Yumm

Tip the carbonated water bottle and slowly pour the flavor in. Then you GENTLY mix the bottle and you get soda!

Soda!

Soda!

Pour into a glass and drink!

FOR ME!

FOR ME!

First impressions are good. I can definitely taste the Dr. Pepper in Pete’s Choice. Is it exactly like Dr. Pepper? No, but it is awfully good. I actually found this to be a little lighter in taste than regular Dr. Pepper and definitely not so super sweet like some of the fake Dr. Peppers out there (Winn-Dixie’s version comes to mind). I do believe that next time I will add an extra shot of carbonation (which I believe Dee from Two of a Kind said also).

The process was SUPER simple and I’m amazed at how little it takes to make a liter of soda. Definitely value for money here. The standard size of SodaMix costs $4.99 and makes fifteen liters! Or fifty servings (YES FIFTY!).

Now, I was ELATED at how much I received as a prize. I knew from the website that I would receive the three full size SodaMix bottles and the 12 samples, but I wasn’t expecting the MyWater. In fact, when I won and was researching the site I didn’t see the MyWater. It is brand new and they gave me some for free! Awesome! The instructions to put 1/2 teaspoon into a liter of sparkling or still water, that’s it! I’m assuming it is going to give me a light fruit flavor like you find in those new flavor waters, which I like. I have been cutting most of my soda intake down and drinking a TON of water at work and enjoy a little flavor, so this should come in handy. I plan on making up a liter of sparkling water for work tomorrow. Will report back later!

Finally, thanks again to Dee at Two of a Kind, Working on a Full House! Visit her! If you are a mom/gonna be a mom she has a LOT of really cool giveaways! I leave you all with a photo of what Whiskey liked most about the prize!

She just loves trash!

She just loves trash!

11 Responses to “Soda Club USA”

  1. Deana February 18, 2009 at 8:42 am #

    This is awesome! I like a lot of fizz in my drink too. I wonder if mixing it first and then using the co2 would produce more fizz???

  2. Dee February 18, 2009 at 9:13 am #

    Yeah..you should have pushed the button one or two more times to add more CO2! I’m not sure what they were thinking!

    I’m glad you enjoyed it and thanks for the email! AND…there will be a giveaway for ANOTHER one on my blog in a few months!

  3. Joe O. February 18, 2009 at 9:18 am #

    Very cool! Let me know when so I can send my readers (however few they may be) over there!

  4. Kati February 18, 2009 at 9:59 am #

    How cool. I can’t believe it was SO simple! What a great prize to win. And at least it is pretty cheap to buy refills of the kinds you like! Enjoy it!

  5. infijess February 18, 2009 at 3:47 pm #

    nice!

    • Joe O. February 18, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

      THAT was officially the 600th approved comment on my blog!! YAY! WTG Jess!

  6. Deana February 19, 2009 at 7:12 am #

    I really really want this!!! I am trying to talk my husband into the economic plusses to getting this, so we will see. Any idea how long the co2 lasts?

  7. Joe O. February 19, 2009 at 8:07 am #

    The carbonators that come with it are the “60-liter” ones so they will make approximately 60 liters of soda each. Of course if you like extra fiz it will last less.

    To exchange two for two new ones costs about $25 according to their website.

    They also have 110 liter ones (that make 110 liters) and they cost $36 to start and 22 for every exchange.

  8. Tara March 13, 2009 at 12:00 am #

    damn i miss soda

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kentucky (Un)Fried Chicken « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 23, 2009

    […] with a soda, but you can also add that for $1 more. I didn’t need one because I make my own soda! The normal price for this meal would be $4.89 (at my […]

  2. Tagged?!? « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - May 1, 2009

    […] Made some Soda […]

Leave a Reply

