Dinosaur World!

3 Feb

The entrance from the parking lot

The entrance from the parking lot

As I told you in a previous blog Saturday was my mom’s birthday. She decided on a themed day that started with us driving out to Dinosaur World in Plant City, FL (about an hour from my house). I’ll be honest, I wasn’t expecting much.

We’ve been driving by it for years on I4 on the way to Busch Gardens but I had yet to actually talk to anyone who had actually been there. I assumed it would be your average dirty broken down roadside attraction and it wasn’t.

Dinosaur World was a very well done and well maintained attraction. Don’t expect Disney style animatronics or special effects, just expect lots and lots of dinosaurs. Their “park” is a series of pathways that lead you around a heavily forested area with large dinosaur figures in the trees, grass and water. Each different type of dinosaur has a small plaque telling you some basic information about that dinosaur, including why it has it’s name, where it has been discovered and what time period it came from (not all dinosaurs came from the Jurassic period you know!). The prices are pretty good, $12.75 for adults and $9.75 for children 3-12!

You know you are at the parking lot because the median divider is actually a dinosaur!

No I didnt go walk into the road to take a pic of the front side.

No I didn't go walk into the road to take a pic of the front side.

After going through the entrance you walk onto a boardwalk that winds you towards the actual parks entrance. Here is a fossil display off to one side of the boardwalk:

Cool

Cool

This guy was feeding in the trees while we walked up:

He is pretty big!

He is pretty big!

Remember, we aren’t even IN the park yet! We haven’t paid a dime and yet we have seen at least three dinosaurs. Finally we were greeted by this beautiful building:

Awesome!

Awesome!

This is the main entrance building/gift shop (of course). You pay the nice ladies at the register to enter and receive a nifty wristband to prove that you paid!

Cute

Cute

One of the first things we notice is this small T-Rex head designed for small children to get in through the back and look like they are being eaten by a dinosaur. Being the only “child” in our group I got on my knees and crammed myself into it for a photo op, much to the joy of my parents.

My view from the inside

My view from the inside

You can guess the height of this thing based on the fact that my 5’2 mother is bending over slightly to look inside.

Being that this attraction is close to Tampa and a certain big game was happening the next day in Tampa, there were a lot of unusual sights for dinosaurs, or at least what I assume is unusual.

Hrmm...did they have pigskin back in the Jurassic period?

Hrmm...did they have pigskin back in the Jurassic period?

As you wind through the various paths you find many different dinosaurs, many I had never seen nor heard of, like this guy:

Like a big Geico gecco!

Like a big Geico gecko!

Luckily his plaque told me all about him:

Informative!

Informative!

There were big dinosaurs:

Climbing a tree!

Climbing a tree!

And little dinosaurs:

They are cuties

They are cuties

There were flying dinosaurs:

One has a fish!

One has a fish!

And swimming dinosaurs!

Water level is a bit low...

Water level is a bit low...

There were mommy dinosaurs:

They look sad for some reason...

They look sad for some reason...

And baby dinosaurs:

How cute!

How cute!

The “star” of the show is probably the T-Rex, but being a star he was having some plastic surgery when we were there:

Just a little lift!

Just a little lift!

Overall I thought this was a very good roadside attraction. They have over 130 dinosaurs! They also have a large playground area for the kids along with a supervised fossil dig (check for times) for the kiddies to partake in. I am not a parent, but I believe that this park would be VERY interesting for the younger guys. I will warn the parents out there though, not all the dinosaurs are in “nice” positions. In fact, there were a number of scenes like this:

Ouch...

Ouch...

If this sort of thing is too “real” for your child, then you have been warned. Otherwise I say definitely take the little ones out for a fun afternoon at Dinosaur World!

On the way back out you exit through the gift shop where they have just about everything at least a little dinosaur related for sale. From Jurassic Park (the movie) stuff to Barney toys! They also have jewelry, t-shirts and other normal souvenir type stuff. I, of course, bought a shot glass:

Still cant get the photography of shot glasses down...

Still can't get the photography of shot glasses down...

Finally, I took WAY too many pictures. There was just too many to use in the blog so I decided to upload them all and let you guys see them in a Photobucket Slide Show (if you want). So go here to see the rest of my dinosaur pictures!

2 Responses to “Dinosaur World!”

  1. infijess February 4, 2009 at 12:38 pm #

    Awesome!! I drive by it once a month now and wonder if it would be cool!!

    As Caelan gets older we will have to make a visit!!

    You can come too and help with the twins 😉

    Oh and I absolutely LOVE the pic of your parents!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. T-Rex Cafe Review « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - February 6, 2009

    […] 6, 2009 by Joe O. So after Dinosaur World we went to Downtown Disney to have dinner at the brand new T-Rex Cafe. We had reservations, thanks […]

Leave a Reply

