Ming Tsai’s Blue Ginger Meals

30 Jan

In honor of Chinese New Year I cooked myself an Asian meal on Monday evening. Welcome to the year of the Ox! In case you are wondering I was born in the year of the Rooster!

I picked up some of Ming Tsai’s Blue Ginger frozen meals at my local Super Target and decided to make the chicken pad thai and some pot stickers!

Here is all the pretty matching Blue Ginger stuff!

Here is all the pretty matching Blue Ginger stuff!

Since I was eating alone, again, I decided to only make 4 of the 9 pot stickers and since I am on a diet I only ate one serving (so half) of the chicken pad thai. The rest of the pot stickers went back in the freezer and the second half of the pad thai will be lunch at work this week!

I started out with the pot stickers since I had to boil a pot of water. Once boiling you add one pot sticker at a time making sure the water comes back to a rolling boil before adding the next (you don’t want to chill the water too much).

Hot bath!

Hot bath!

Have to keep them boiling for the next 4-5 minutes. After they are done boiling you dry them on a paper towel:

Drying...

Drying...

While they are drying off heat a little vegetable oil in a pan on medium high heat. Drop the stickers on their bottom and brown them for 5 minutes (or until golden brown).

Hot! Hot! Hot!

Hot! Hot! Hot!

Once they are done I put them aside so I could cook the pad thai.

Waiting to be eaten!

Waiting to be eaten!

To start the chicken pad thai you take the frozen sauce pack and run it under warm water for about a minute to thaw:

Warming up...

Warming up...

Then put the frozen noodles in a strainer (or colander) and run them for 2 minutes under cool water

Got to loosen them up...

Got to loosen them up...

Sauce and noodles waiting their turn

Sauce and noodles waiting their turn

While those are thawing take the rest of the contents (veggies and chicken) and put in a saute pan over medium heat for 5-6 minutes.

Already looking yummy

Already looking yummy

After 5 minutes...

After 5 minutes...

Next you add the noodles and sauce:

Almost there...

Almost there...

Stir fry it for about a minute or until everything is combined and hot:

Done!

Done!

Plate it up and eat!

It was good!

It was good!

Ming Tsai’s food is ALL yummy. The flavor profiles are excellent and not just your average mock-Chinese food flavors. I have yet to have any of his stuff that wasn’t really REALLY good, including this!

I will point out a couple things however, first his food can be a little spicier than your average mock-Chinese food and second the portions aren’t huge. Since I’m on a diet, the portion thing is a blessing and I don’t mind spice. In this dish the dipping sauce is definitely spicier than I was expecting.

I’ve learned that Ming Tsai’s Blue Ginger products are sold exclusively at Target, but I recommend you check out his stuff! They cook up nice and easy and are a wonderfully flavorful Asian entree. Perfect for a dinner for two…or one.

Leave a Reply

