Chia Herb Garden

29 Jan

I got one! Mom bought me a Chia Herb Garden (WARNING: Auto-play video with audio when you visit these links), she also got one for herself!

The box!

The box!

I finally got around to putting mine together, I helped her with hers a while back and shes already got a LOT of green!

The package comes with six different seed packets, but only four pots!

The contents.

The contents.

You have to choose between dill, cilantro, sweet marjoram, sweet basil, chives and curled parsley. I find it a bit annoying and think that they should have just given me six pots!

Oh well, the instructions tell you to soak each of the patented Chia growing sponges in running water before placing in each pot.

Ready for seeds!

Ready for seeds!

For all of the herbs, except the chives, you just pour the seeds on top of the sponge. The chives you have to make a small slit and pour the seeds into the hole you make. Each herb comes with a small sign so you know which is which!

My seeds!

My seeds!

Each one has seeds, the chives are in the hole I made and the basil has black seeds. As you can kind of see I chose chives, sweet basil, dill and cilantro. Those were the ones I thought I would use most.

Next the instructions tell you to wrap in plastic, or place a plastic bag over each to create their own individual green houses!

How comfy...

How comfy...

It then says to find a warm out of the way spot to place them while they germinate. It recommended the top of the fridge, which I decided would work perfectly.

Their home for now...

Their home for now...

I will keep you all updated with how this works and maybe cook a little with my new fresh herbs!

3 Responses to “Chia Herb Garden”

  1. sunshinekmp January 30, 2009 at 8:47 am #

    How crazy that they did not give you enough pots for all the seeds!

    • Joe O. January 30, 2009 at 11:11 am #

      But GREAT news…I got some sprouts this morning! YAY!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chia Herb Garden Update! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - February 13, 2009

    […] 13, 2009 by Joe O. On the 29th of January I told you about how I had planted my Chia Herb Garden. I actually planted it a few days before the blog post so it has been about 2 weeks and I thought […]

Leave a Reply

