Cheese-Stuffed Meatloaves and Two Sides

23 Jan

This is a Publix Apron’s Simple Meal that my mom gave me and it looked so good that after getting home from Disney I decided to run to Publix Sabor and pick up what I needed. Being that this was a Publix Apron’s Simple Meal you can go HERE and see the whole recipe online and print it for yourself. My normal cooking step by step will continue below, but I know this printable recipe will make it easier on you if you want to (and you should!) make it for yourself.

The recipe I got came on a card, with holes punched to go into a recipe book which included everything you would need on one side, including a shopping list and a cooking sequence. The other side had the actual recipes for each of the three dishes I was about to prepare. So I made it all! I made Cheese-Stuffed Meatloaves, Parsley Potatoes and Chuck Wagon Corn.

Nifty Recipe Card!

Nifty Recipe Card!

The card says that it should take you about 45 minutes to prepare and cook this meal, I believe it took me about and hour. However, remember I had to stop and try to take pictures which always makes the process longer.

The Line-Up!

The Line-Up!

Overall you will need 1 1/4 lb lean ground beef (I used 1 1/2 lbs because my Publix doesn’t sell it in 1/4 increments), 8 small red potatoes, 25-30 sprigs fresh parsley, 1 3/4 frozen diced onions, 2 cups frozen whole kernel corn, 1/4 cup frozen diced green bell peppers, 1 egg, 4 sticks string mozzarella cheese, 3 tablespoons garlic butter (that I made myself), 1 1/2 cup pasta sauce, 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs (not pictured) 1 tablespoon chicken base (I did not use), and 3 tablespoons diced pimientos.

Per the recipe card you start by doing step 1 on the potatoes, which means chopping up parsley!

This is about 30 sprigs...

This is about 30 sprigs...

This goes into a pot with the 8 small red potatoes, 2 quarts of water, 1 cup frozen onions, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/8 teaspoon pepper. This would also be where you use the 1 tablespoon chicken base (but I didn’t have any).

Nice bath!

Nice bath!

Cover that baby up and put her over high heat to get her boiling! Next per my cooking sequence you start the meatloaves. This means getting a mixing bowl and combining 3/4 cup of pasta sauce, 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs, 1 egg, 1/2 cup frozen onions, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/8 teaspoon pepper and the beef.

It is all in there, I promise!

It is all in there, I promise!

Mix this up until it is all combined, I learned from Alton Brown (my cooking hero) that the best tools for this job are your hands.

All mixed up!

All mixed up!

Divide into four, I learned from Rachel Ray to draw an X making about four even sized portions:

Almost even...

Almost even...

Due to my raw meaty hands I don’t have a picture of the next step, but what you want to do is take each one of these four portions and shape it so it will surround one of the cheese sticks each. It is kind of like a corn dog. The recipe notes that you want to make sure to pat it down tight so that none of the cheese can run out. I tried, and as you will see later, failed.

All comfy in their jackets!

All comfy in their jackets!

The card said to place them on a baking sheet, but I decided in case of spillage (my oven does NOT clean itself) I put it in a glass baking dish. These go into a 400 degree pre-heated oven for 20-25 minutes. I baked mine for 25 minutes and the meat came out a LITTLE under medium (perfect for me). I know that many people have a thing about eating ground beef that is even the slightest bit pink, if that is so, cook it longer and use a thermometer to check the temperature (you are looking for 160 Fahrenheit). Top with the rest of your pasta sauce (No, I forgot to take a picture of it).

By the time this is in the oven, and you wash your hands, your potatoes should be boiling. Remove the cover and let boil for 20-25 minutes (see how that works out?).

Ten minutes later it is time to do the Chuck Wagon Corn! Melt your garlic butter in a large saute pan on high heat, once melted swirl around the pan to coat. Add the corn, 1/4 cup onions (I ran out of onions for the beef and potatoes, so my corn went without), 1/4 cup green peppers, 3 tablespoons diced pimientos and 1/2 teaspoon salt (I used some garlic salt here).

Due to the fact that I almost burnt my butter and had much going on at once, including singing to Rob playing Guitar Hero World Tour in the other room, I didn’t get many pics, but here is one once everything was in!

Almost Mexi-Corn!

Almost Mexi-Corn!

You want to simmer, stirring often over high heat for two minutes and then turn the heat down to medium and stir occasionally for 8-10 minutes (this worked out so that it finished EXACTLY at the same time as the meatloaves and potatoes!

Strain out your potatoes and return them to the pan, add 2 tablespoons garlic butter.

Hot Hot Hot!

Hot Hot Hot!

Get your meatloaves out of the oven!

My cheese got out!

My cheese got out!

I plated it all up for me AND Rob!

Yummy!

Yummy!

The meatloaves were very VERY moist and had a lot of flavor. Probably would have been even better had the cheese stayed inside like it was supposed to! Both side dishes stood on their own and gave me my needed vegetables of the day! I especially liked the corn, probably be better next time when I make it with onions! Rob and I both cleaned our plates quick and Rob gave a thumbs up. This was about as simple as you can get with a homemade meal like this.

I would definitely recommend that you guys try this one out!

5 Responses to “Cheese-Stuffed Meatloaves and Two Sides”

  1. Kati January 23, 2009 at 9:33 am #

    This does look good (even though I don’t really like meatloaf). I’m impressed! Quite for meal…it would be a nice meal to serve if you had company coming over.

  2. limeandlemon January 24, 2009 at 10:27 am #

    looks good .. more like delicious .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  3. dee January 25, 2009 at 5:52 pm #

    Wow, that looks awesome. I am one of those weird ones that Loves meatloaf. Where do you find the pimentos?

    • Joe O. January 25, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

      The pimentos were in jars in the same aisle as the pickles. Small glass jars.

  4. eclexia February 16, 2009 at 4:49 pm #

    I was very happy to find this recipe, because by the time I bought the ingredients, I’d misplaced the recipe card for it from Publix.

    And it was a double bonus, because you show pictures of each step AND even throw in a Rachel Ray tip 😉

    Make that a triple bonus that I got in finding your blog–I don’t live too far from you, and I’ve been wondering about whether or not Dinosaur World would be worth the money. Based on your review, I think my kids would really enjoy going there. I’ll keep watching your blog for fun local things to do and places to go.

Leave a Reply

