Burger King’s Angry Whopper

21 Jan

I’m sure you have seen the commercials.

The commercials were good enough to get me to want to try one!

I’ll start this off by telling you that I enjoy spicy food, not necessarily HOT food. Yes, there is a difference. I don’t like to dump a bottle of Tabasco sauce on my food, that is hot! I especially enjoy spicy Asian type dishes, but you won’t normally eating whole peppers!

So I bought a single Angry Whopper meal:

In all its glory!

In all its glory!

Not the most impressive burger I’ve ever seen. The first thing I noticed was the lack of the “Angry Onions” I had heard so much of.

No onions!

No angry onions!

Not a very impressive sight and unfortunately the taste wasn’t any better. The sauce was just a spicy ketchup, and it wasn’t very spicy at that. The cheese tasted like cardboard with pepper flakes. There were three or four slices of jalapeno which were a nice surprise kick every once in a while, but didn’t have enough kick to carry through the burger. The onions probably would not have kicked it up enough to really save this burger.

The only thing angry about this “Angry Whopper” is that I could have gotten a regular Whopper, which is a good burger, for less! They pumped up how “hot” this burger was and it really was a let down on every level. I’m sure they kept the spicy-ness toned down for more “appeal” but what is the point? If you are going to make a burger that you claim to be so spicy that you call it “Angry” you better make it hot. Burn a taste bud or two!

If you like spicy food, buy a Whopper and throw some hot sauce on it. This was a waste.

3 Responses to “Burger King’s Angry Whopper”

  1. infijess January 21, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

    Thanks for letting me know!!

    Now I want a Whopper!!

    I do like the commercial though…

  2. Phillip February 3, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    Myself and three co-workers went there today as we have been craving these bugers since the commericals started to air.

    We were so dissapointed that the only thing angry about these burgers were us afterwards.

    We know hot.
    We know spicy.

    We know ripoff as well.

    Do yourself a favor and don’t fall for this cheap marketing ploy. It is a classic case of false advertisement.

    I would go so far as to disagree with the author of this review, as I wouldn’t call the peppers a kick at all. It was a a joke.

    I’ve smelled farts that tasted hotter.

  3. tokyo5 July 26, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    Japan just got the Angry Whopper…but it’s a little different than the U.S. one, I’ve heard.
    (For one thing, we can decide how many jalapenos we want on it).

    http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/fastfood-summer-campaigns/

Leave a Reply

