Wii Fit Shipping Gets Better…Part 3

17 Jan

Image stolen from GayGamer.net

Image stolen from GayGamer.net

For those of you who watch the news or watch Technology Blogs (like me) you know that Circuit City had filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy in 2008. At that time they closed a bunch of stores, but mine (brand new) and the website were still up and running.

It just happened that I found my WiiFit at CircuitCity.com and I now WISH I had not been cheap and used a quick shipping method. I did not know that between the time I purchased (and paid) for my item and the time it would arrive that they would file for Chapter 7 bankruptcy (full liquidation).

Circuit City is gone. It may, like CompUSA, return in some form, but its current form is gone. Over the next few days liquidators will take over the stores, fire the employees, hire temporary workers and begin selling until the stores are empty. And by empty, I mean EMPTY. They will sell everything they can get out the door.

When I read the news yesterday I immediately called Circuit City to find out about a couple things. FIRST, would I be able to exchange my pink mat for another color. The nice young lady told me that they were not doing ANYTHING over the phone, but if I brought it and my reciept to a store they may do an exchange, but no promises.

Today I called the same number and got a disconnection notice. Apparently the nice young lady I spoke to got her pink slip. CircuitCity.com now is down. I’m stuck with a pink mat probably.

I can only PRAY that the WiiFit arrives on Tuesday as scheduled in one piece and in full working order, because I’m pretty sure that I have no recourse if it isn’t.

2 Responses to “Wii Fit Shipping Gets Better…Part 3”

  1. sunshinekmp January 17, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    If for some reason it does get to you and doesn’t work, you could at least use the manufacturer’s warranty to get it fixed or replaced. I do hope that you are able to find a blue mat though! 🙂
    If I happen into a Circuit City before they are closed, I will look and see if they have any. Maybe I can buy it and then you can return the other one. Although that’s probably not allowed either.

  2. infijess January 20, 2009 at 6:55 pm #

    Wal-Mart is pretty good with exchanges … 🙂

Leave a Reply

