Disney’s Hollywood Studios

14 Jan

So yesterday, Tuesday, I had the day off and decided that I wanted to go to Disney’s Hollywood Studios (I hate this name, but I understand it can’t be MGM anymore) but there wasn’t anyone who could/wanted to go with me. I have a Florida Resident Seasonal Pass, it’s like an annual pass but there are blackout dates. It is also cheaper for being a Florida Resident. One of the drawbacks is that free parking isn’t included, but for a Disney veteran, parking can always gotten for free. You just have to know where to go. But I’m not going to give my secret away for fear that Disney may figure it out.

The reason I wanted to go to Disney’s Hollywood Studios is to try out the new Toy Story Midway Mania in 4D! This ride is very similar to the shooting games at the other parks, Buzz Lightyear at Magic Kingdom and M.I.B. at Universal Studios. The main difference that sets TSMM apart is the fact that instead of there being fixed/animatronic items to shoot with a laser, you are shooting at a collection of 3D screens.

Because the ride is “virtual” using screens and 3D glasses you shoot different things. At the first one you are shooting what appears to be blue and red fruit and you can see the “ammunition” moving. This means that you have to take into account each different items “flight.” The other thing that is different is that instead of pulling a trigger (or just holding it down like you can on M.I.B.) you pull a string.

This is a lot more work than I thought it would be.

I got to the park a little after open (about 9:15am) after taking a bus from the TTC to Hollywood Studios and made a bee line to TSMM. First time through the line it was about a 15 minute wait. After my first ride I grabbed a Fast Pass (for 12:25pm – those things go QUICK) and jumped back in line. 25 minutes later I rode again. Pulling that string a few thousand times (or so it felt) was a lot of work for my wrist! My first time I rode with a nice gentleman, who I believe was a cast member, who said he had ridden the ride a few hundred times and I lost 150k to 99k.

Now, I’m competitive, and his beating me down (mainly due to the last screen I found) didn’t sit well. The nice couple in the car next to us COMBINED for 100k, so I didn’t do too badly.

Each time I got better with my 3rd and final score for the day being 165k, but all three times I earned the same prize, the beaver, which is either the 3rd or 4th from the best. No you don’t really get a beaver, nor do you get a toy beaver, its just on the screen. The top score for the week was over 350k, but I will get better and I will get myself on that list!

In between my second and third rides, so between about 10:15am and 12:30pm, I decided to ride the Rockin’ Roller Coaster. I used the single rider line to run circles around people. A few of the employees would smile every time I came around and one tried to keep count with me. As the lines built my waits were lengthened, but I managed to ride the ride 10 times in a row PLUS get a ride on Tower of Terror (regular Stand By line) in that two and a quarter hours.Not too shabby.

I finished off my day riding Star Tours. It had no wait and gave me a headache immediately. I managed to ride a launched roller coaster 10 times straight without needing a Tylenol, but one ride on the simulator made me need one! After the ride I walked through the gift shop, which is a coaster/ride rule you know, but it is a good thing because I found my newest shot glass! It is awesome!

Now, it is difficult, for me, to take a picture of a shot glass, but I took some!

Side One

Side One

Side two...

Side two...

You should be able to read the first side, but there is a lot going on on the other side and I just couldn’t get it to come out. It is Yoda in Mickey Ears (yes, the custom stitching says “Yoda”) holding a Mickey head Ice Cream Bar (with one ear missing a bite). Yoda is standing in front of a sign that says “WARNING! You must be this tall to ride this ride.” Obviously Yoda is not the required 40 inches and cannot ride the ride. The sign also has three symbols letting you know that you cannot bring light sabers, robots (C3PO in particular) nor laser guns. Poor Yoda!

3 Responses to “Disney’s Hollywood Studios”

  1. Kati January 14, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    Sounds like you had fun! That is a lot of riding of the roller coasters. I can’t believe your wait for Toy Story was so short. Even with getting there first thing!

  2. TheDeeZone January 16, 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    Haven’t been since the Toy Story ride opened.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. EPCOT International Flower & Garden Festival 2009 « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - March 21, 2009

    […] something that I found at the festival, but not necessarily related to it. A while back I went to Disney’s Hollywood Studios by myself and I saw a guy wearing an awesome hat. It was white with Donald’s feet sticking […]

Leave a Reply

