A Sad, Sad Day

11 Jan

My parents, Rob and I are heading down to Busch Gardens Tampa Africa today to have our last turn at Busch Garden’s Brewmaster Club.

As you probably know, a foreign company has purchased the previous “All American” Anheuser-Busch. That company InBev has already started doing what I expected them to do. They are laying off thousands of Americans in order to ship their jobs overseas, they jacked up prices at the theme parks (that they don’t really want) and now are doing away with anything at the park that doesn’t make money. Free beer doesn’t make money…or as they say “it has limited appeal.”

I don’t know about the regular tourist, but I’ve never seen the Hospitality House (at either park) not have a line for the beer and the Brewmaster Clubs have plenty of people getting reservations. That lets me know that the “appeal” isn’t quite so “limited.”

About the money thing, yes, it is free beer. You can get two free cups of the beer of your choice inside the Hospitality House AND you can sign up for the Brewmaster Club which allows a sample of four different types of beer. Each sample is about 1/4 of a beer. So that is three free beers for everyone, but not everyone will take full advantage. Also, there are many AB beers that I had never heard of, nor tasted before my Brewmaster Club experience.

Some of these I have purchased. For example, I currently have Winter Cask Ale, Stone Mill Pale Ale and a variety of Michelob “craft” beers all BECAUSE I went to the Brewmaster club. I absolutely would NOT have purchased these beers had I not sampled them first.

The Busch family wasn’t just giving away free beer, they were giving away a sample as a lure to get you to buy more beer! And it works!

Leave a Reply

