Slow Cooker Cranberry Dijon Pork

31 Dec

Yup, it is another cooking post!

This one has a bit of a story. On December 23rd my mom texted me about how “we” (meaning my dad and I) needed to figure out dinner for Christmas Eve. Due to a miss communication, dad AND I both ended up buying some stuff for dinner. So I had ingredients for a pork roast in my fridge and no real reason to cook them. So I went ahead and made the recipe for a normal Tuesday dinner for one.

The Ingrediants!

The Ingredients!

This recipe is simple. It calls for a 2-3lb pork roast, one 16 oz can of cranberry sauce, once 1ish ounce of onion soup mix, 1/4 cup of butter and one tablespoon of Dijon mustard.

Put a pan over medium heat and melt the butter:

Mmmmm butter...

Mmmmm butter...

Then brown all sides of your pork:

It begins

It begins

That looks tastey!

That looks tastey!

Done all the way around!

Done all the way around!

While that is cooking turn on your crock pot to Low and dump in your can of cranberry sauce:

Use a spoon to break it up

Use a spoon to break it up

Add the package of soup mix:

And stir it up...

And stir it up...

All mixed together!

All mixed together!

Now take your pork and add it to your crock pot:

Uh Oh!

Uh Oh!

So I failed to realize that my crock pot wasn’t large enough! So I had to think fast and decided to cut the roast in half and seared off the cut ends:

Twins?

Twins?

Now they fit!

Now they fit!

Put your top on and let this cook for 4-6 hours. I let mine cook for about 5! Take the pork out and let rest:

Yummy

Yummy

Go ahead and add your tablespoon of Dijon mustard to whats left of the cranberry and onion soup sauce in your crock pot:

Plop

Plop

And stir it together:

Ready to top your pork!

Ready to top your pork!

Slice up some of your pork and top it with your sauce. I served mine with a small salad and stuffing:

Dinner is served!

Dinner is served!

The pork was SUPER tender, I didn’t need that knife at all. The flavor of the sauce was awesome. This was a very yummy and simple recipe. Let the crock pot do all the work!!

Since tonight is New Years Eve I want to make sure all of my readers enjoy themselves but stay safe! I can’t afford to lose readers to stupidity! Need a DD? Call me! Oh wait, I probably won’t be sober…

4 Responses to “Slow Cooker Cranberry Dijon Pork”

  1. sunshinekmp December 31, 2008 at 8:28 am #

    Looks/soundss yummy and quite easy! I might have to give this a try.
    Since you won’t be a DD….do be careful…and call one if you need it! 🙂 Happy New Year!

  2. Deana December 31, 2008 at 1:40 pm #

    That looks awesome but don’t you end up with a lot of leftovers??? I wonder if I used a smaller piece of pork if it would be the same cook time???

    Happy New Years. I like the cooking blogs best. Just so you know my work and I check out your blog everyday. Its become an everyday staple.

  3. biz319 December 31, 2008 at 11:03 pm #

    I wish I could convince my hubby to mix fruit with meat! That sounds delish – like the mustard at the end too!

    Happy New Year!

  4. Kori January 2, 2009 at 10:36 am #

    😛 pork ewwww

Leave a Reply

