ICE! at the Gaylord Palms

24 Dec

Igloo Entrance

Igloo Entrance

Merry Christmas Eve everybody!!

I’m not sure what everyone else’s traditions are, but in my family we normally do Christmas Eve church services and then come home to open our presents! Then Christmas morning we get our “Santa Gifts.” Yes, the youngest in the household is 17 and we have “Santa Gifts.” Whatever your traditions are I hope you are with your family on this holiday! Check past the break for ICE!

I wanted to share some pictures of the amazing ICE! exhibit at the Gaylord Palms in Kissimmee, FL. This was my first time and I loved it! I cannot believe what they can do with ice! I will preface these pictures by telling you that ice isn’t the easiest thing to photograph and that 9 degrees for Joe is WAY too damn cold! Some pictures came out well, others not so much. My camera was also very slow in the cold, while moms didn’t work at all! She claimed her battery died, I just think her little cute camera was too cold!

9 degrees!!!

9 degrees!!!

There isn’t a lot for me to write about this and I’m on holiday, so enjoy the pictures!!!

FISHIES!

FISHIES!

Pretty Swan

Pretty Swan

Deer!

Deer!

Bear fishing!

Bear fishing!

Giant Ornaments

Giant Ornaments

These things are HUGE!

These things are HUGE!

GingerICE house!

GingerICE house!

Details on the GingerICE house

Details on the GingerICE house

The cieling of the GingerICE house

The cieling of the GingerICE house

Yummy!!

Yummy!!

Giant Candy!

Giant Candy!

Giant frozen Santa!

Giant frozen Santa!

Elf seat!

Elf seat!

Baby frozen Jesus

Baby frozen Jesus

The real First Family

The real First Family

Part of the nativity

Part of the nativity

Detail of the lamb

Detail of the lamb

Giant Angel

Giant Angel

We Three Kings...

We Three Kings...

As we neared the end there was this tunnel with a really cool looking ice effect. It looks like they frosted a wire mesh or something and put lights in it. I was mesmerized, so I took a few pictures.

Pretty

Pretty

Close up

Close up

No flash...looks cool

No flash...looks cool

The next room was a huge set of slides with life size reindeers made of ice. I tried everything and really could not get any good pictures in this room. The lighting just wasn’t right for my little camera. But here is the best of what I got.

Rudolph leading the way

Rudolph leading the way

The rest

The rest

Side view

Side view

Watch for falling ice!

Watch for falling ice!

Now we get to the final room with the farewell…

Santa surfs with an alligator?

Santa surfs with an alligator?

Penguins dancing...Happy Feet?

Penguins dancing...Happy Feet?

Coke bear...but somebody ripped the label off!

Coke bear...but somebody ripped the label off!

I had a blast! Check it out if you are in the area!!

One Response to “ICE! at the Gaylord Palms”

  1. Deana December 24, 2008 at 11:14 am #

    I went to ice for a Give kids the World fundraiser and thought it was awesome too!!! I especially loved the nativity set. It was really large and amazing. There was a lady in front of us and her daughter kept licking the colored ice 🙂 Great photos.

Leave a Reply

