Blue Cheese Potato Soup

11 Dec

Let me start out by saying this is the first soup I’ve ever prepared from scratch! I found this in one of those small recipe books that they sell near the register at grocery stores! It comes from Swanson’s Homemade Soups! Obviously this recipe calls from Swanson broth, which I dutifully used!

The lineup

The lineup

The ingredients are simple…4 pounds red skinned potatoes (peeled and diced), 1 medium onion (chopped), 5 cloves of garlic (minced), 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar, 1/3 cup crumbled blue cheese and 6 cups Swanson Vegetable Broth.

The recipe starts out with a couple tablespoons of olive oil in a 6-quart sauce-pot over medium heat. Chop and mince your onion and garlic:

Dont cut yourself!

Don't cut yourself!

Smashed and minced garlic...

Smashed and minced garlic...

Toss in the garlic and onion and cook until tender:

Yummy already

Yummy already

At this point I am going to point out that peeling potatoes was less than fun. I did not enjoy it at all, but I did it all by myself!

The recipe said diced but I just kinda chunked it up...

The recipe said "diced" but I just kinda chunked it up...

Add the broth to the pot:

Next add the potatoes:

Im proud already!

I'm proud already!

Bring the liquid to a boil, then cover and turn the heat down to low. Let sit for 30 minutes (or until the potatoes are tender).

Doesnt look much different, but this is after 30 minutes!

Doesn't look much different, but this is after 30 minutes!

Next you take about a third of the mixture and pour it into your blender or food processor (which I used):

Blend until smooth

Blend until smooth

After blending pour into a large bowl and do the next third and then the final third. Return to the pot and place over medium heat once again. Add the tablespoon of balsamic vinegar:

Its almost done!

It's almost done!

Then add the crumbled blue cheese and mix it in:

I love blue cheese!!!

I love blue cheese!!!

Heat for about 5 minutes and be sure to mix the cheese and vinegar in:

Ready to serve!

Ready to serve!

For a second and third opinion I packed my soup up in my crock pot and drove it up to Lake Mary and shared with my parents. They cooked up some yummy garlic rolls:

Dont sink!

Don't sink!

I thought it was great. A nice, pure potato taste, which is what I think a potato soup should be! The blue cheese left a nice subtle almost creamy background. I loved it, my mom seemed to like it and everyone finished at least one bowl! The best part is that its natural. The broth was organic and everything else was fresh. No processed foods, no preservatives, just pure flavor! It was definitely more work than most of my recipes, but I hope you  try it on one of these chilly winter nights!

3 Responses to “Blue Cheese Potato Soup”

  1. Deana December 11, 2008 at 8:46 am #

    I love potato soup! It really good with ham in it.

  2. biz319 December 11, 2008 at 12:58 pm #

    Love the blue cheese/potato combo!

    I eat soup all year long – which reminds me I have potatoes in my pantry – may need to make this!

    Thanks for the recipe

  3. infijess December 15, 2008 at 12:44 pm #

    I like the natural part!

    Did you save me some?

Leave a Reply

