SPAM!

4 Dec

Not much to it!

Not much to it!

I must admit that, to the best of my knowledge, have never eaten Spam (NOTE: Music and speech starts when you click and I couldn’t find a mute button). Until now. After hearing about how Spam sales are sky-rocketing in our wonderful economy I thought I should try it. It is cheap, filling and there are recipes all over the internet for different ways to prepare Spam. I’ve also seen multiple Food Network and Travel Channel specials about how much Spam is consumed in Hawaii, so it can’t be killing people right?

I decided to take the plunge by making a recipe I saw all over the place. BBQ Spam sandwiches. Really simple recipe. All you need is one can of Spam, one small onion and some BBQ sauce. I wasn’t working off of any particular recipe so I just eye balled the measurements.

First chop up the onion:

Just roughly chopped

Just roughly chopped

Get those onions cooking over medium high heat to give them a little color:

Cook them as much or as little as you like!

Cook them as much or as little as you like!

Get your Spam out of the can, I found this to be more difficult than I thought. It just didn’t want to come out, but once it did it looked like this:

Yumm?

Yum?

Slice up your Spam:

Kinda like bologna!

Kinda like bologna!

I realized at this point that one can was way more than I needed for this, so I put the rest in the fridge for lunch meat sandwiches.

Go ahead and push your onions to the side and flop a few slices in the pan:

Just looking to get a little color...

Just looking to get a little color...

Flip over

Flip over

Finally we will add in the BBQ sauce. I estimate that I put in about 1/2 cup, but just put as much or as little as you think you need!

Looks better already!

Looks better already!

I lowered the heat to low and let that simmer for about five minutes while I toasted up a couple buns:

So I burnt them a bit!

So I burnt them a bit!

I used two and a half slices per sandwich, then topped with some of the sauce and onion mixture:

Looks like food

Looks like food

I served with a side of wavy potato chips:

Dinner is served!

Dinner is served!

The verdict: I liked it. I would in fact make this again. The Spam’s texture is a little weird and even after eating it I’m not certain what part of the pig it tastes like. In the sandwich it tasted like BBQ, which was the point of the recipe.

Oh, and just to prove something I tried a piece of the Spam “raw.” I think it would go well on a sandwich with some mustard and mayo.

Proof

Proof

One Response to “SPAM!”

  1. sunshinekmp December 4, 2008 at 9:35 am #

    Ummm….yeah. No. I don’t think I’ll be trying it. Good for you though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

