Animal Crossing: City Folk Review-ish

21 Nov

Cover

Cover

I recently purchased Animal Crossing: City Folk for the Wii (with WiiSpeak) and much like the previous two versions, I’m addicted. For those of you unaware, Animal Crossing is a series of video games where you move into a village and interact with other “animals” as you go along your daily lives. You make money by fishing or catching bugs or by running errands for your neighbors (though there appears to be less of that in City Folk).

Since the original Animal Crossing, on the Gamecube, the game hasn’t changed much. The same basic characters and places to go and things to do. Sure, there are more fish and different furniture collections. They added some Wii-mote capabilities (mainly point and click) and they made it so you can make your character look like your Mii.

I really like that I now can have my Animal Crossing character look like my Mii, mainly because I spent a lot of time making my Mii look JUST like me. Pale skin and all.

I have already spent hours fishing, catching bugs, digging up fossils and pulling mushrooms. I’ve expanded my house twice and hope to have the third expansion ready tomorrow (got to pay off that loan first though!). I still get excited when I hook a new fish, my favorite is the very ugly “Football Fish.”

If you like Sim type games then you will probably like this game. If you do like it, and pick it up, let me know so I can add you as a friend. Currently I have no friends and no one to try out the “WiiSpeak” feature with. 😦 So sad…

Leave a Reply

