Healthy Choice Fresh Mixers

9 Nov

If you watch the same television shows I do you have probably seen about a thousand commercials for Healthy Choice’s new “Fresh Mixers.” These are the new frozen dinner that isn’t frozen. They show people in cubicles storing it in their desk. To fully test this new product I brought it to work and stored it in my desk:

In my desk!

In my desk!

The packaging is actually pretty neat and well done. The top (label portion) pulls off to reveal that the green “top” is a strainer. Beneath that is a “sauce tray” that you remove. Below that are the dry noodles:

The packaging taken apart.

The packaging taken apart.

You just add water to the “fill line” :

With water

With water

Then you snap the lid back on and cook (follow package instructions). When it finishes you hold it by the sides and flip it over to strain the water:

With strainer attached post cooking.

With strainer attached post cooking.

Next you heat the Sauce packet for 30 seconds and then add it to the noodles (Heating of the sauce is labeled as optional):

Then you mix!

Then you mix!

Ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

I chose to test what I thought might be the most difficult flavor profile (of the ones I bought) first. I chose the Szechwan Beef in Asian Style Noodles and I must say it was fairly good. I would say that the noodles are CLEARLY better than what you get in your average frozen dinner. They were the right texture and actually didn’t taste like cardboard. The sauce and vegetables were well done. The seasoning and flavor were right. My only question was the beef. It was a bit dry and nearly tasteless. I bought other flavors and I’m thinking the chicken or Italian dishes should be better.

I purchased these at my local Publix Sabor where they were on sale at 2 for $5 which I must say is a good deal for a quick, easy and tasty lunch. I’m guessing that they will normally be between $3.50 and $4 which will still be competitive with the frozen dinners they are trying to replace.

5 Responses to “Healthy Choice Fresh Mixers”

  1. sunshinekmp November 9, 2008 at 8:44 am #

    Sounds quick and easy. I’ll have to see if they have other flavors I might like.

  2. Joe O. November 9, 2008 at 12:55 pm #

    I had the Ziti in Meat Sauce today and it was pretty good. The meat sauce had a nice little spice to it…

  3. infijess November 12, 2008 at 9:40 am #

    I’ve had some Vegetarian or Near Vegetarian (chicken) ones and they are AWESOME!! So much better than some of the frozens I buy … and after a while Kashi and Amy’s dinners all taste the same ….

    mmmmm foooood

  4. Moggy December 23, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    I just tried the same one you had…omg that was horrible! It tasted like sugar, after I drowned it in soy and wasabi and managed to gag it down by chasing it with 1 liter of water. I flipped over the container and found that the 2nd ingredient is SUGAR! What the heck is “healthy” about that? Unfortunatley I paid more than 3.50 for mine, what a waste of money.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. » Healthy Choice Fresh Mixers - November 9, 2008

    […] Then you snap the lid back on and cook (follow package instructions). More […]

Leave a Reply

