I Want My MTV!

29 Oct

What does the M stand for anyways?

What does the M stand for anyways?

I remember when I was a kid MTV used to be all about music videos. Somewhere in the 90’s things went horribly wrong. So much so that MTV has three channels on cable television and a website that combined have about 2 hours of music videos a day.

It makes me sad every time I flip by MTV to see another “reality” show starring some cross dressing prostitute named “New York.” It has only gotten worse recently with Viacom/MTV Networks gobbling up VH1 and CMT to essentially rid the world of music video television. CMT now airs a delightful show about becoming a Dallas Cowboy Cheerleader. I’m not sure what that has to do with Country Music, but I’m sure there is a connection somewhere.

Finally though our prayers have been answered, somewhat. Apparently someone at Viacom/MTV Networks noticed that they have about 700 billion music videos sitting in their vaults doing absolutely nothing. I’m sure the executives first thought was to burn this useless trash but no, someone came up with an idea. They should allow people to watch them! I know, I didn’t believe it when I first read it either.

But there it is. MTVMusic.com has a bazillion music videos for you to watch. It is pretty amazing, you can see videos like this:

I know that is a YouTube video. WordPress won’t let me embed from MTVMusic.com so I had to use YouTube as a substitute. But that video is available at MTVMusic.com!

I want everyone to go to this site and start watching videos. Hopefully if enough of us watch music videos MTV won’t begin to place I Love New York season 71 episodes on the site.

One Response to “I Want My MTV!”

  1. sunshinekmp October 29, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    I like the Dallas Cowboys Cheerleader show. 🙂

Leave a Reply

