Full Moon Review

25 Oct

Wintery

Wintery

You may be wondering what I drank with my Crunchy Parmesan-Mustard Pork Chops, well wonder no more! I drank a Full Moon (or two). Full Moon is the Winter seasonal beer from Blue Moon. You may recall my review of Harvest Moon, which was Blue Moon’s Fall seasonal. In addition to loving the name of this seasonal beer I was intrigued by the promise of “dark Belgium sugar” clearly written on the label. Having never had a bad beer from Blue Moon I couldn’t wait to pop it open!

The beer poured darker than I was expecting from a Blue Moon and didn’t look at all like the thick wheat beer that is Blue Moon. My mind immediately thought that this beer was going to be in the Porter or Stout categories, but reading the label again it said it was an “abbey ale.” I wasn’t sure what to think, but it looked good.

Looks good!

Looks good!

The dark color had some hints of auburn, unlike most stouts that are solid black. The head was almost orange but quickly vanished. After my first sip I was hooked. This is a good beer. The beer smells nutty, but in a good way.

As soon as the beer hit my palate I could taste the sugar. This is not to say the beer is sweet at all, it isn’t! The sugar helps balance the beer as it smoothly slides down your throat. The beer is at 5.6% abv (alcohol by volume) but doesn’t taste strong. It did have a slight warming effect which keeps it in line with a good winter beer.

This is a MUST drink. If you don’t want to  buy yourself a 6-pack (for $7.99 at my Publix Sabor) then stop by my house and I’ll give you a swig!

One Response to “Full Moon Review”

  1. sunshinekmp October 25, 2008 at 1:57 pm #

    Sounds good. I’ve really been meaning to buy one of the beers you have reviewed for Big Monkey as a treat. Maybe one of these days!

Leave a Reply

