Travian

13 Oct

The Romans, Gauls and Teutons

The Romans, Teutons and Gauls

So as you all know I sit on the internet way too much. Most of my time is spent looking up football and racing information and looking at viral videos. I also chat with some friend on Pidgin to pass the time. Recently my friend Kori, who comments on my blogs regularly, pointed me to a game called Travian. This is an addictive browser based “real-time strategy” game.

Travian has become a world wide phenomenon with over 150 servers around the world. The game revolves around three “tribes” of people. Romans, Teutons and Gauls. Each tribe has different attributes that help you in the game. You start off with an empty village and begin building up your resource fields. There are Wheat fields (used to feed you people), wood, clay and iron mines. Every field or building you build costs resources so you have to wait as the fields build up enough resources.

You also end up needing to build soldiers to raid other players (for resources). There are a bunch of different soldiers and each tribe has their own. The game is a war game, so you need to build alliances and defenses to protect yourself.

The regular servers run for approximately a year with the speed servers running 3 times faster. The game ends when one player (with the help of others) builds a “world wonder” to level 100. I have only recently started so I have not gotten to the end game.

I really like the game because you need to check on it multiple times a day, but you don’t need to spend hours at a time on it. You send your soldiers out on raids and build up some buildings and then come back later.

I play on the .US server (so travian.us) and have so far had a really good time. There are large players on every server that will attack you for no reason and try to destroy you, which is sad. On the speed server I am going through that now. I’m doing my best to not be killed, but it isn’t easy.

3 Responses to “Travian”

  1. infijess October 13, 2008 at 3:05 pm #

    Yes, it is a fun and eerily addictive game … but once someone bigger than you has pegged you as their target it SUCKS! I’ve had to delete two accounts due to that.

    Speed server is by far my favorite … I’m impatient I guess…

  2. kori October 22, 2008 at 9:55 pm #

    muhahaha…i told you its addictive… NOW LOOK INTO THE SCREEN AND GIVE ME ALL YOUR MONEY….lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Travian - October 13, 2008

    […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt So as you all know I sit on the internet way too much. Most of my time is spent looking up football and racing information and looking at viral videos. I also chat with some friend on Pidgin to pass the time. Recently my friend Kori, who comments on my blogs regularly, pointed me to a game called Travian. This is an addictive browser based “real-time strategy” game. […]

Leave a Reply

