Ore-Ida Steam ‘n Mash

1 Oct

Before the cooking

Before the cooking

I’ve seen the commercials about a million times and I’m sure you have also, but Ore-Ida has released a new product they call “Steam ‘n Mash” potatoes. The concept is pretty simple…you don’t have enough time to cook and mash up your own potatoes but you want something with more flavor than the flakes! Ore-Ida (famous for their frozen french fries) has brought a “frozen” mashed potatoes to our table and I had to try them. It didn’t hurt that I won coupons from my good friends blog.

So Monday I visited my local Wal-Mart and found the “Steam ‘n Mash” in the freezer section right next to the frozen french fries. A lot of people must have had coupons since when I arrived there were only two bags left and both were the “three cheese” flavor. I decided that this would go fine with my plan of cooking the Bruschetta Chicken Bake I told you about yesterday.

I checked out the instructions and it seemed relatively simple. Stick the bag, UNOPENED, in the microwave for 11 minutes on HIGH. Let it sit a couple minutes, cut the bag and pour (without burning yourself with the steam) into a bowl and mash them up.

HOT! Slightly inflated...

HOT! Slightly inflated...

Into the bowl

Into the bowl

As you can see there are cubes of potatoes and some cheese/flavoring that has melted. You add some milk, butter and salt to this then mash away.

All mashed up

All mashed up

It looks good and was very simple, but once it was time to eat the accolades stopped. The texture just wasn’t right. It looks like good mashed potatoes but it didn’t feel like them. It almost seemed like parts had the texture of a soft (under cooked) french fry. The taste was pretty bland. Yes I could taste cheese, though I couldn’t name you the “three-cheeses” they were aiming for, it was still bland. I know potatoes aren’t the most exciting food, but I enjoy the taste of a potato. A good fresh baked or mashed (skin on please) potato is excellent. This was not.

I know, this probably wasn’t trying to compete with good ol’ fresh mashers! This is meant to replace those crappy boxes of flakes, right? Well, I don’t think it was nearly as good as those flakes. The flakes at least end up with some potato flavor and you can get a nice consistency if you whip it right.

Overall I would have to say I will probably never purchase this product again. Maybe to try one of the other flavors, but probably not. I’ll stick with what I have thank you!

2 Responses to “Ore-Ida Steam ‘n Mash”

  1. Kati October 1, 2008 at 10:20 am #

    I also agree that instant flakes are better than this was!

  2. Sandra R September 9, 2009 at 1:03 pm #

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

