Bruschetta Chicken Bake

30 Sep

When you are standing in line at the grocery store watching the old woman in front of you count out pennies or wait while the cashier has to leave and go grab cigarettes from the customer service station (something Wal-Mart does right: You want cigs, you go to a specific line!) the only thing you have to do is browse the selection of reading material. I personally hate the National Enquirer type stuff (this weeks is about Sarah Palin’s affair) so many times I find myself flipping through the cookbooks! Just so happened that I picked up “Kraft’s Cheese Casseroles & More” and tonight made my first recipe from it. The Bruschetta Chicken Bake.

I’ve come to realize that these cookbook publishers place the “best” or most attractive recipe in the center, because its the page you will probably see it as you first flip it open. This was that recipe:

Ingredients:

You’ve got 1 14.5 oz. can of Diced Tomatoes, 1 6 oz. package of Stove Top Stuffing for chicken, 1/2 cup water, 2 cloves of garlic (I used some garlic in oil that I keep in the fridge), 1 tsp. dried basil leaves (off the spice rack), 1 cup shredded mozzarella, and 1.5lb’s of boneless Skinless Chicken breasts cubed:

Note the color coded cutting board!

Note the color coded cutting board!

Heat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. While it is warming up mix the tomatoes, stuffing mix, water and garlic together in a large bowl until the stuffing is moistened:

Place your cubed chicken in a 13×9-inch baking dish and sprinkle with the basil. Top with cheese and stuffing mixture. It doesn’t really specify to layer or anything so I just kinda mixed it all up:

Ready for the heat

Ready for the heat

Bake for 30 minutes (or until the chicken is cooked through). When it comes out if will look something like this:

Ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

This dish has everything all mixed in to one. The stuffing on the top is nice and crunchy while that in the middle is still moist. The contrasting texture just enhances the taste of the dish. The combination of the cheese, crunchy stuffing and tomatoes somewhat reminds me of bruschetta, but the dish doesn’t taste like hot bruschetta with chicken at all. It is better.

The dish was simple, quick and cheap. I also believe that it has broad appeal to even those picky little mouths in your household. I’m cooking for one, so I hope the leftovers taste as good at work the next couple days. I served this (to myself) with Ore-Ida’s new “Steam ‘n Mash” Potatoes, a small salad (Catalina dressing) and Anchor Brewing’s Steam Beer.

See mom! Green on my plate!!!

See mom! Green on my plate!!!

Look for a review of the “Steam ‘n Mash” tomorrow and the Steam Beer on Thursday!

7 Responses to “Bruschetta Chicken Bake”

  1. sunshinekmp September 30, 2008 at 10:05 am #

    Good job! Looks tasty and quite easy. We might have to give this one a try.

  2. infijess September 30, 2008 at 1:40 pm #

    I like the green but I spy the Nutty Bars!!!

    This sounds good! I’ll have to give it a try!

  3. kori October 1, 2008 at 12:24 am #

    this shell be tomorrow nights dindin

  4. mom October 1, 2008 at 6:08 am #

    are u auditioning for the Food network? looks good

  5. Joe O. October 1, 2008 at 6:46 am #

    I don’t think this would fly on the food network since I think that it only took me about 5 minutes to do the whole dish. Of course the cooking time would extend the show, but who wants to watch me research fantasy football while drinking a beer?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ore-Ida Steam ‘n Mash « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - October 1, 2008

    […] “three cheese” flavor. I decided that this would go fine with my plan of cooking the Bruschetta Chicken Bake I told you about […]

  2. Anchor Steam Beer « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - October 2, 2008

    […] them at the local ABC liquor store before tax). It also happened to be the beer I paired with my Bruschetta Chicken Bake and Ore-Ida Steam’n Mash potatoes for dinner Monday […]

Leave a Reply

