Burn After Reading – Mini-Review

19 Sep

So I just realized that I had not posted a review for a movie I saw recently, “Burn After Reading.” The reason being, it is a difficult movie for me to review because I don’t want to tell you much of anything about it to spoil anything! The movie has an all-star cast and I loved it. PERIOD! So go see it! Why are you still reading? This movie is a must see in my opinion! I would say that if you don’t want to see it in the the theater that you rent or PPV it when you can.

Burn After Reading stars the likes of John Malkovich, George Clooney, Tilda Swinton, Frances McDormand and Brad Pitt. It is also directed by the Coen Brothers (Fargo, The Big Lebowski, O Brother, Where Art Thou?) and is a “dark comedy” which I can only relate to a movie like The Big Lebowski. I find it very difficult to categorize the movie but I enjoyed it thoroughly.

The movie revolves around a CD found in a gym containing information from the computer of a CIA agent (Malkovich). A pair of personal trainers (Pitt and McDormand) decide to try to blackmail the agent for the disk back and the movie revolves around the hilarious events that follow. As I said, this is a “dark comedy” so there are some graphic scenes and language (which a few of the teenage girls would giggle at every time) so don’t take your 9 year old.

Brad Pitt was hilarious, John Malcovich was ingenious and George Clooney was perfect in his funny, quirky, horny role. I’m not sure how the Coen brothers come up with the ideas and story lines and how they put together these movies, but they just make classics!

I watch The Big Lebowski every chance I get and believe that once I get Burn After Reading on DVD, I will do the same. If you haven’t seen The Big Lebowski, go see it!

I will give this movie 4.5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

