Microsoft Zune

17 Sep

I know many of you are looking at that title and scratching your head. You are asking yourself what is a “Zune” and why is Joe going to talk about it and what does Microsoft have to do with it? Well, the Microsoft Zune is an mp3 player widely available as an alternative to the iPod. Is it better than the iPod? In my opinion it is in many aspects.

Just yesterday I was reminded by Microsoft of its superiority. Lets start at the beginning, I bought a first generation 30gb Zune dirt cheap on Woot! (expect anything less?) well after the first generation was finishing up its expected life cycle and the second generation was nearing on the horizon. I bought it with the assumption that I would use it for as long as it would work and watch the bigger badder flashier generations fly by, I mean, have you looked at a first generation iPod recently? Good luck finding one that actually works and people paid TONS of money for those things. The screen was crappy and the device was woefully slow. What did Apple do for its loyal “early adopters”? They sold them a second generation iPod with a few new bells and whistles. The iPod “classic” is on it’s sixth generation since its release in October of 2001! Don’t look now, generation seven is coming soon!

Microsoft sent me an email today notifying me of some new Zunes that have just been released and some new functions that are coming with the new Zunes version 3 firmware and software. Oh well right? Nope, I got to download the new firmware and software which has given me all the functionality of these brand new Zunes for free! My Zune doesn’t have the 120GB storage the brand new ones have and it’s screen isn’t as bright, the battery life is pretty crappy, but I can do everything it can!

Have you guys seen those brand new iPod touches? Pretty cool huh? Yea, Apple just announced that they are getting an update! HOO RAY! That is if you don’t mind paying for Steve Job’s codpiece made of baby seal eye lids! That’s right, it is less than a year old and Apple wants you to PAY them to fix the bugs!

The big new function? While listening to FM radio on my Zune I can tag a song and download it from the Zune Marketplace via the Zune’s built in Wi-Fi. Isn’t that cool? You can’t do that with an mp3 player that capitalizes its name funny!

I love my Zune and while I do bash the iPod every now and then I’m really just posting this to make sure anyone looking for a new mp3 player actually knows about a serious competitor. It is not going to be the #1 mp3 player any time soon, but it is a very strong #2! So check it out!

6 Responses to “Microsoft Zune”

  1. Jim September 19, 2008 at 4:15 pm #

    I have been looking all over the Internet for some decent mp3 player accessories. Good ones are hard to come by, even for an iPod. I just bought an iPod and I like it already but I do want some accessories to enhance it’s features.

  2. Erik September 19, 2008 at 5:19 pm #

    I have a Zune too… I bought the 1st Gen when it first came out and bought a protection plan from Best Buy knowing that 2nd Gen would be right around the corner. I did have a few problems with my 1st Gen, but loved it. So I upgraded to a 2nd Gen (80gb) and just updated my firmware to version 3. One thing that always bugged me was there was no sleep timer… so I had to make a playlist that would last just long enough for me to fall asleep, but not way up at 3 in the morning when some blaring heavy metal song came on. Well, they now have a clock… so sleep timer must be coming soon! 🙂 I definitely like being different than everyone… my friends all have iPhones and iPod Touches… I have an LG Voyager and a Zune, thank you very much.

    BTW, woot linked back to you!

  3. Steven September 20, 2008 at 12:11 pm #

    Gotta love the Zune. I’m chiming in with Erik, my friends have iPods and iPhones and Macs…etc….but, I’m rocking an HTC Kaiser, a Zune and Media Center PC. The 3rd gen firmware is pretty freaking great and you’re right, it’s not just an alternative to the iPod, it’s a real competitor.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Microsoft Zune - September 17, 2008

    […] flamaster wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt I know many of you are looking at that title and scratching your head. You are asking yourself what is a “Zune” and why is Joe going to talk about it and what does Microsoft have to do with it? Well, the Microsoft Zune is an mp3 player widely available as an alternative to the iPod. Is it better than the iPod? In my opinion it is in many aspects. […]

  2. » 95 Errors But A (Bleep) Ain’t One: Vanity Search & Destroy - Product Reviews Article | ArticleBlip.com: All News and Facts, No Fluff - September 20, 2008

    […] guy likes his Zune from Woot. This gal likes her his iPod from Woot. It takes all kinds to make Woot go […]

  3. Sansa Clip 8GB from Woot! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 14, 2010

    […] I have my amazing Zune (also purchased from Woot!) I will be using this for my running. Most of the time JC is my run […]

Leave a Reply

